The Weakerthans Reconstruction Site
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
barcafan21
July 18th 2012



1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

hahaa, not at all, of course you have a favorite review that you wrote. also, i just realized what you did with drunken liturgies, that was quite sly

SeaAnemone
July 18th 2012



18763 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

haha doesn't it fit in perfectly, though?
I'm a tad buzzed right now and listening to this and wondering if it might be one of my favorite albums ever
I mean, it's perfect either way, but that's saying something
it's been a constant go-to for as long as I can remember

Gyromania
July 18th 2012



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is so near perfect. I would love to see these guys live.

barcafan21
July 18th 2012



1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

it really does. wow i can't get over the way you dropped that in, that's now one of my favorite lines in a review ever. i see why it's your favorite.

i wonder if it'll become a go-to for me, i've been listening to it daily, but it's still new to me.

WeepingBanana
July 18th 2012



9893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Left and Leaving is better but yeah this rules

SeaAnemone
July 18th 2012



18763 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

eh let it sit and simmer, that's how it's gotten so important to me
few albums are worth forcing on yourself (though I guess there are a few)

barcafan21
July 18th 2012



1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this is definitely better than left and leaving.

and i never force myself to listen to anything unless it's a first listen or it's super-long, i simply choose to listen to this every day.

SeaAnemone
July 18th 2012



18763 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this album would be so easy to overlook though

barcafan21
July 18th 2012



1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

honestly, i think left and leaving is much easier to overlook.

SeaAnemone
July 18th 2012



18763 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

In my eyes, Left And Leaving has so many amazing songs, more so than this even (as proven by being many of the highlights on the live album) but this is absolutely the better album in my eyes

barcafan21
July 18th 2012



1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

really? i think this has more amazing songs, and is the better album. is the live album a video or just music?

SeaAnemone
July 18th 2012



18763 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's a video as well as: http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/35666/The-Weakerthans-Live-At-Burton-Cummings-Theatre/


scissorlocked
July 19th 2012



3479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is mostly its lyrics but the music is good too

Digging: Fantastic Mr Fox - Sketches

WeepingBanana
July 19th 2012



9893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is catchier and easier to get into, in fact I've probably listened to it more than Left and Leaving but LaL is just way more dynamic and has depth that this album just doesn't

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is better and i have a raging boner for all their albums

i'd also love to see these guys live, i hope they play some shows together soon. for now, seeing John Samson live in Munich should hold me over (he played lots of Weakerthans songs)

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Tyrael
July 19th 2012



20394 Comments


blegh

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

barcafan21
July 26th 2012



1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this is a lot easier to listen to than left and leaving, i think because the songs are much more concise. the flow from song to song is better and the songs are shorter. also, i just noticed the less is more reference, which makes two lyrical references dropped into the review, making this just about the best review ever.

barcafan21
August 27th 2012



1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

is the debut worth getting

barcafan21
August 27th 2012



1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

is the debut worth getting

Spare
August 27th 2012



5223 Comments


yes. very much so



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy