Agalloch The Mantle
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2010


20020 Comments


good review but agalloch bores the fuck out of me

SowingSeason
Moderator
December 30th 2010


21002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Really? This doesn't strike me as something that could be boring...there is way too much going on for it to not at least warrant your attention while you are listening.

Digging: Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2010


20020 Comments


Yeah idk, it's weird especially for someone who loves black metal but Agalloch just never really struck a chord with me

SowingSeason
Moderator
December 30th 2010


21002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Fair enough...also, that makes some sense, because this is really not that metal. It is more alt rock with metal and folk influences, if anything.

Spec
December 30th 2010


30213 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Couldn't get into it.

SowingSeason
Moderator
December 30th 2010


21002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

it's so good though. maybe give it more time? i don't know i don't want to push it on people

Crysis
Emeritus
December 30th 2010


17021 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

For me this needed time. It took a while for it to really hit home. At first I thought it was great but over time I thought it was absolutely essential, and now seventy five listens or so later I still love it.

Hawks
December 30th 2010


43527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm with Crysis. This one really had to grow on me, which is odd because I got right into Pale Folklore and Ashes.

Digging: Katatonia - The Fall of Hearts

Crysis
Emeritus
December 30th 2010


17021 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ashes wore off on me to be honest as I became more enthralled with this.

SowingSeason
Moderator
December 30th 2010


21002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

This is the only Agalloch album I have listened to; on first listen it was already a 4. It has been about 2 weeks and 4-5 listens later, and it stands at a 4.5...maybe someday it will be a classic, but as I mentioned in my review, some portions of the album feel recycled

Hawks
December 30th 2010


43527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That one never grew off me at all. This one really, really grew on me though.

climactic
December 30th 2010


21617 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ashes gets boring

Hawks
December 30th 2010


43527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just like Ashes with more listens tbh. Same with all of them except Marrow. That one grew off me.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010


19916 Comments


It is more alt rock with metal and folk influences, if anything.


I don't really see how this isn't predominantly a metal album. I mean, yes, there are the slow parts, and the folk influences, but the way its structured and executed is undoubtedly metal. Just because it doesn't blast beat its way through every song doesn't mean it isn't a metal album.

Digging: Der Zyklus - II

SowingSeason
Moderator
December 30th 2010


21002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I didn't mean that it isn't metal, just that the presence of other styles (like folk) make it more a combination of metal and other genres

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010


19916 Comments


Well yeah, of course, that's what makes Agalloch so good. But this is still a metal album.

SowingSeason
Moderator
December 30th 2010


21002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Well that's what it is classified, and rightfully so. It is majority metal (with other heavily influential aspects involved in the music)

Dryden
December 30th 2010


13492 Comments


so



eternium
December 30th 2010


16352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Doesn't bore me at alllll.

DarkNoctus
December 31st 2010


9574 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

with this the first 3 listens were just "okay", it was only when I considered giving up on it did it really click for me and became one of my favourite albums ever



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy