Yes Close to the Edge
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigPleb
May 27th 2014


45619 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

same omg

Snowdog808
May 27th 2014


2713 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Is anyone else's second favorite off this album "Siberian Khatru?"

Friday13th
May 27th 2014


5399 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Snowdog808 probs not. The song rules, but the other two are gifts from another world where prog is allowed to grow unchallenged by predators like...punk.

Snowdog808
May 27th 2014


2713 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh okay, but I still love the other two for sure. If only more people would have had the ability to appreciate the glory of this album.

Friday13th
May 27th 2014


5399 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah many would probably turn it off as soon as the title track starts up with the jazz freak out. Sad

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2014


25342 Comments


it's such a breeeeeze to jam, no stereotypical prog wankery on here


There's some very typical prog wankery at the beginning of the title track.

Digging: Clams Casino - 32 Levels

BigPleb
May 27th 2014


45619 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You are being a real party pooper as of late, JT.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2014


25342 Comments


I don't mean to be, just saying it how it is!

SCREAM!
May 27th 2014


13706 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

He's right though haha

BigPleb
May 27th 2014


45619 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lol he is but I'm just saying, a lot of tworthammers being dropped as of late!

guitarded_chuck
May 27th 2014


8439 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

he's right, sometimes i skip the first part of the song cause of it



#confessions

Friday13th
May 27th 2014


5399 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You guys have gone soft that part is so m/

Friday13th
May 27th 2014


5399 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^FourthReich telling it how it really is

Snowdog808
May 27th 2014


2713 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It sure is not like Howe or Wakeman are jerking off at their instruments for five whole minutes per song.

Friday13th
May 27th 2014


5399 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's no Topographic Oceans lol

Betray
May 27th 2014


6757 Comments


671 5's wow

Digging: Nails - You Will Never Be One of Us

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2014


25342 Comments


that's his opinion, i consider prog wankery to be nonsensical guitar filler, the mars volta did it a lot. the reason i completely disagree with his opinion is because the intro feels like a build up and has direction, where as wankery is usually put there to say hey look im proggin i can play guitar good


I disagree with your opinion as for me that part is the very definition of prog wankery. It's the worst part of the song by far and adds nothing to it other than showing their technical abilities as musicians. So basically it is everything you describe as being wankery IMO.

Don't get me wrong though, it doesn't stop the song from being the best thing Yes every wrote/recorded. And I'm not totally against prog wankery anyway, sometimes it can be enjoyable.

Friday13th
May 27th 2014


5399 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@JT fair enough. It's not like there is an obvious line between skillful instrumental and wankery. It

all has to do with how you interpret it and what you're used to. I'm sure there are some saps out

there that think Ian Anderson is wanking on that flute ;)

@Betray that should tell you something. Jam it more and bump it. A 3.0 is a disgrace to prog.

Snowdog808
May 27th 2014


2713 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

A 3 does sound way farfetched, but at least he is not going any lower.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2014


25342 Comments


@Friday: Haha probably. I think most people would agree that Tull are one of the least "wanky" prog bands out there though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy