Yes Close to the Edge
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NeroCorleone80
February 18th 2014



26865 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Camel should be in the big 5

Digging: Morbid Angel - Blessed Are the Sick

Gwyn.
February 18th 2014



14005 Comments


Yea Camel would be third or maybe second from that group

Genesis is still last for me.

conesmoke
February 18th 2014



4912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Too bad.

FearTomorrow
February 18th 2014



1639 Comments


Genesis, Rush and Camel are the most metal sounding of the big prog groups in the 70's so they're probably my three favourites

Floyd would be number 4 but they kinda transcend

Digging: Nothing - Guilty of Everything

Gwyn.
February 18th 2014



14005 Comments


King Crimson are more metal sounding/heavier than all of those besides Rush so weird reasoning. Still

KC > Floyd = Camel > Rush > Jethro > Yes > Genesis ( < Steve Hackett solo stuff also)

my rankz

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2014



7849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Rush > Gentle Giant > King Crimson = Genesis > Floyd = Camel > Yes > Jethro

NeroCorleone80
February 18th 2014



26865 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

KC > Rush > Floyd > Camel = Yes > Genesis > Tull

Gwyn.
February 18th 2014



14005 Comments


Well if we're adding lesser known prog stuff there's also Moody Blues, Harmonium, Renaissance, Comus (Opeth named an album after these guys, fun fact), Premita Forneria... Lotta those would get scattered in my ranking

King Crimson is still number 1 though, no contest

SCREAM!
February 18th 2014



9590 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Need to listen to more KC but so far I'd say

Rush>Camel>Yes>Floyd>KC>Jethro>Gentle Giant>Genesis

OmairSh
February 18th 2014



8117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

KC is number 1

Digging: Clint Mansell - Moon

SCREAM!
February 18th 2014



9590 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think Gentle Giant are known enough to be considered. If we start adding everyone else though these list are gonna get very complicated haha

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2014



7849 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Nah Gwyn, I just think Gentle Giant should be added to the list. Even though they weren't as well known as the others, they could still be considered one of the 70s prog giants nonetheless

NeroCorleone80
February 18th 2014



26865 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

KC are the Black Sabbath of prog

Friday13th
February 18th 2014



1227 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

King Crimson = Yes > Rush > Genesis > Pink Floyd > Jethro Tull > Camel

Digging: Sebastian Hardie - Four Moments

conesmoke
February 18th 2014



4912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And wetness... Is the essence.. Of beauty


DrHouseSchuldiner
February 18th 2014



5605 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Rush

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2014



18202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Jethro Tull > all other prog.

Digging: Benoit Pioulard - Hymnal Remixes

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2014



14506 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

new anderson album out soon JT, you gotta review that

Digging: Atomic Ape - Swarm

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2014



18202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I most probably will.

facupm95
February 18th 2014



34 Comments


pink floyd > everything



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy