Metallica Six Feet Down Under
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2010



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

INDEED.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2010



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Also:

@ Hans: Devil's Dance is actually not too bad IMHO. It's the rest of ReLoad (aside from Fuel, TMR, LML, and Fixxer) that's a pain. Why did Metallica think we'd let them get away with it?

Wizard
November 9th 2010



19304 Comments


@ Xeno: Just curious...does the usage of the personal pronoun make the review less effective? And does it lend to the display of personality? I'm still trying to find some balance between the two - help me out! =) + =p

BAM! I could care less about personalized reviews, I do them sometimes and they don't take away from the review. This was a great read.

Digging: Downer - Downer

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2010



15584 Comments


lol'd at the summary.

a couple things:

1. vortex of suck
funny and all, but surely you can come up with a better adjective

2. the rating seems a bit high (even at a 2), considering that at the end of the review you implore me to avoid it at all costs. should probably be a 1.5 or a 1.

also, about the first person language, i have never seen that as a bad thing as long as all of your reviews aren't like that. i mean look at my review of damnation, the whole fucking thing talks about how depressed i get when i listen to it but that's okay because i worked it into the album's sound and its overall qualities. and i'd say you integrated it well enough here for it to work.

plus your overall writing style is good.

pos'd

Digging: Trampled By Turtles - Wild Animals

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2010



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

@ Wizard: Thanks so much for the opinion! I was really wondering about whether using personal pronouns detracts from the "professionality" of the review, and so decided to ask. Ultimately I think it all comes down to balance - and whether one can counteract the using of "I" with enough pronouns to make it still seem polished and smooth.

@ Sowing: Good point (on both counts). I think I'll actually go and swap the review rating - I've listened to it again and holy crap this actually sucks so much that charging for it seems like a crime lol.

As always, thanks so much for your comments - I really appreciate the constructive criticism.

Cheers folks!

FadeToBlack
November 9th 2010



10913 Comments


review basically reads like ur mad that the production isnt very good

idk about you but i'd rather this than have an over-dubbed, studio raped version with which sounds identical to the songs on their actual albums

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2010



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

@ FadeToBlack: Point taken, but seriously the recording is really bad on half the songs on this one - and the half that isn't is still meaningfully different from the original studio recording.

But if you can, do listen to it yourself - I'd really like to know your perspective + what you think.

Jethro42
November 9th 2010



12390 Comments


Review is a good read, Irving. Keep the good work up.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2010



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Merci beaucoup mon ami! Si vous avez des commentaires sur mon critique, n'hesitez pas de donner ca!

(Haha my French is soooo bad - I'm not sure if that sentence makes any sense at all, but thanks for the compliments Jethro, and do feel free to give comments on anything worth improving!)

Jethro42
November 9th 2010



12390 Comments


Non, non et non! Your French is honestly very good if compared to a lot of Sputnikers trying to do so. I need to concentrate to some degree to make criticism (English is a bitch for me sometimes haha), but I'm currently too lazy :P


Jethro42
November 9th 2010



12390 Comments


In fact, your sentence is nearly flawless, Irving.
It would be moar liek:
''Si vous avez des commentaires sur ma critique, n'h├ęsitez pas de m'en donner''

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2010



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

HAHA! Yay! I was like 70% right! Not bad :p

But now I haz komplitly understand!! Vous etes frickin' awesome Jethro! ;)

Jethro42
November 9th 2010



12390 Comments


You're too severe for yourself; It deserves at least 80%. I'm glad you kapitched haha, aussi, je te retourne le compliment, tu es une bonne personne toi aussi.


Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2010



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Merci! =) Talking to you reminds me of how well I feel like I've been treated here in Canada. Je pense qu'il y a beaucoup de canadiens qui sont tres merveilleux comme toi. I will miss this country very much when I leave in eight months =(

Jethro42
November 9th 2010



12390 Comments


Good people attract good people wherever you are, bud.

BrineBe
November 28th 2010



35 Comments


I deleted it. I've got TONS of bootlegs that sound way better than this. I can't believe they actually released it. Terrible.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2010



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I am glad you agree. A hard copy of this is selling for 25 bucks here in Canada (CDs usually go for 10-12); now, I'm not a fan of downloading music, but this thing here is an argument for stealing music.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy