Sufjan Stevens The Age of Adz
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jash
November 3rd 2010


4245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

The fact that so many people are freaking out because there's another 5 review is just stupid, a lot of people love this album and last time I checked people write reviews for albums they enjoy. Get over it, it's just a review

patroneyes
November 3rd 2010


1919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is ridiculously meh



this is nowhere even near aoty, so dont come out with any best of decade shit

bungy
November 3rd 2010


8958 Comments


A 5? I'm still skeptical, maybe if there were like four staff/contributer 5 reviews I would check....OH MY GOD

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 3rd 2010


7398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ That.



The review is solid, especially for a fourth. The concept of this review is a bit rough though it has to be said - there needs to be more flair to it, if it makes sense. Ultimately though your writing style will mature with age (and more reviews) - I can totally see you doing high-caliber reviews by the time you reach double figures.



Keep it up mate.

Jash
November 3rd 2010


4245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks guys, I appreciate the feedback

bungy
November 3rd 2010


8958 Comments


There are like 4 tracks on this that are almost perfect

vanderb0b
November 3rd 2010


3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. Sufjan always bored me, though.

timbo8
November 3rd 2010


618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have nothing wrong with people piling up the 5 reviews, or any rating for that matter, as long as the reviews don't suck, and this review does not suck. I don't think this is as crazy good as you say Jash, but I appreciate your zeal.

bungy
November 3rd 2010


8958 Comments


I've always appreciated Jash's zeal

Jash
November 3rd 2010


4245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Zeal??? I'm lost

bungy
November 3rd 2010


8958 Comments


I didn't mean it anyway

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 3rd 2010


7398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I never get why there's so much hate for repeat reviews of any album. No one's obliged to read anything, really. If there's too many reviews of X, then stop reading reviews on X if it bothers you that much and makes you want to hate on it.

Jash
November 3rd 2010


4245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

:0 the truth comes out!!!

Jash
November 3rd 2010


4245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I couldn't have put it better myself Irving

timbo8
November 3rd 2010


618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

droppin the big words on this shiiiiiit

Jash
November 3rd 2010


4245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Ahhhh yes I do have quite the zeal for this album. BOOYAKA

Aids
November 3rd 2010


24184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yah people need to chill when a new review comes up, even if it's redundant. There'd be a limit to how many reviews an album can have if it mattered, but it doesn't.



This is a great resource site for practicing writing and improving. Don't take that away by being nazis about "too many reviews".



Anyway, I can totally understand why some people really can't get on board with this album (redsky, atavan), it's got a really polarizing feel to it. However, for whatever ridiculous reason, I love it. Not album of the year though (that would be The National) and I doubt this will crack any top 20s in 10 years when the 2020 decade lists start popping up.

Aids
November 3rd 2010


24184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review, but Eno is right: don't reference other reviews in your own. Your review should not require supplemental reading.



Review was good though:articulate and concise. The neg is sillly.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 3rd 2010


7398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it's my pet peeve with regards to this site. Too many people feel like they have to flip out and press the neg button/hate on a hapless user the moment they feel like there's been a review too many on any given album.



It sucks most when it is done to newcomers, or people who are just trying to practice writing reviews - and have only had the cash/time to review this one album which just so happens to have been done over a few times by other users. It's utterly silly, and of poor form. So be ashamed of yourself if you do it.

Bitchfork
November 3rd 2010


7584 Comments


Irving dropping the knowledge.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy