Trophy Scars Darkness, Oh Hell
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
October 28th 2010


18239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who cares. Talk about the music.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 28th 2010


3827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its staff policy to see how far we can make everyone like terrible underground releases for the lulz

Knott-
Emeritus
October 28th 2010


10198 Comments


Rating something as a classic just because other people say it's a classic when you don't personally enjoy the record is almost the most pretentious thing you can do as a reviewer.

Maintaining a certain degree of objectivity is one thing but believing that the quality of an album is untouchable is just stupid and ultimately misleading.

I hate the 'classic' tag that comes with a 5 on sputnik anyway. To me, 5 just means perfect. Never mind 'classic'. Otherwise how could you give something new a 5?

xfearbefore
October 28th 2010


1350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh no I agree Knott that forcing yourself to give high marks to an album you don't like so as not to appear unfashionable or unintelligent is not only pretentious it's ultimately foolish because the only person you're lying to really is yourself. What I mean though is that great music, even of a genre one doesn't like, can definitely be identified. For example, I absolutely despise the genre of country-pop that dominates the chartwaves these days, but when I listened to Taylor Swift's new album I didn't immediately dismiss it because of that, and I listened to the album objectively, noting the pros and cons of the release and I ultimately gave it a good rating because even though it personally wasn't something I'd ever really listen to, most of the album was extremely well-produced, well-played, and well-written.



I get what you're saying though and I totally agree. Classic and perfect are pretty interchangeable to me, actually I'd probably say calling something "perfect" is more praise than calling it a classic, as there are quite a few classic albums I could think of that are not completely perfect in every single way.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2010


17958 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

rate based on personal enjoyment, not the influence of the album



case fucking closed

Comatorium.
October 28th 2010


4590 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i dunno. the vocals are the best part of this.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2010


22060 Comments


Whattaya mean “cock-rock nonsense”?

This sounds interesting… Especially the bit about the strings, piano & horns being integrated. I guess I – as you state in the review – just have to get over those vocals.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2010


17958 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

the vocals are so great

atavisticguilt
October 28th 2010


139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is really fucking good. I want can haz.

Aids
October 28th 2010


24184 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lol, don't go dropping your rating in a week now.




I rarely de-5 an album. Lot's of thought goes into my ratings haha.

Comatorium.
October 28th 2010


4590 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah i sort of 5'd it when i realized that i havent felt this way about trophy scars since the first time i heard hospital music, and that absolutely everything about this EP is cool. i seriously cant say a word against it.

Comatorium.
October 28th 2010


4590 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

bad luck was solid 4.5

Gyromania
October 28th 2010


18239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Comatorium has it exactly right.

PanasonicYouth
October 28th 2010


7413 Comments


what the shit did not expect this or even know it was being released

handoman
October 28th 2010


2386 Comments


love this but still not as much as Bad Luck


PanasonicYouth
October 28th 2010


7413 Comments


HOLY FUCK ITS HANDOMAN OMG

handoman
October 28th 2010


2386 Comments


oh hi

WoodLawn
October 28th 2010


134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bad Luck was a 5, and this just comes in slightly below it in my rankings. But god, it is still amazing. There is literally no band like Trophy Scars, and Jerry's vocals are fucking awesome.

PanasonicYouth
October 28th 2010


7413 Comments


hey bby where u been

Spare
October 28th 2010


5567 Comments


dude holy shit when did this happen



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy