Trophy Scars Darkness, Oh Hell
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
xfearbefore
October 28th 2010



1245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Some critical thinking would do you good.


Is that not exactly what I'm doing right now?

I'm not sure how Pink Floyd isn't up the alley of the staff. Anyone with a pair of ears and a taste for rock music, Pink Floyd is up your alley. There's a reason albums like DSotM or Nevermind are given 5 after 5 after 5 by universally every critic on the planet---they're classics.

Anyways, sorry if I ranted and came off like a jerk, was not my intentions, I've got the utmost respect for Illuvatar and the rest of the staff, just trying to start some debate is all.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 28th 2010



3766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Eh, you can't put THAT much weight on the classic ratings. If anything I'd wager that our 4.5s are way more interesting than our 5s, which are almost always just records we are infatuated with. Seriously, if we held '5' up to the standard of Dsotm, we'd never 5 anything.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

xfearbefore
October 28th 2010



1245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah I get what you're saying, it just seems almost like there's this double standard though with some of the reviews I read on here---the more obscure and indie it is, the reviewer's standards are suddenly rock low, and then they turn around and judge a "classic" album and are overly critical about every little thing. Of course music is subjective at the end of the day, but even if you don't like a particular record, like, say, Sgt. Peppers, as a staff reviewer I usually expect them to atleast be objective and recognize that even if they don't personally enjoy Sgt. Peppers, they recognize it is a classic in the rock canon and hugely influential and beloved.

Man I'm really painting a bullseye on my back lately with the way I've been butting heads with some of the more established users here. I again apologize for my rudeness initially in this thread Illuvatar, but we all love music so I think you can understand why sometimes I or others might get caught up in the passion of the argument.

Anyways, I'll just leave it at that, I've already derailed this thread enough when the attention should rightfully be on this great artist and this great album.

Gyromania
October 28th 2010



15506 Comments


Who cares. Talk about the music.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 28th 2010



3766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its staff policy to see how far we can make everyone like terrible underground releases for the lulz

Knott-
Emeritus
October 28th 2010



10195 Comments


Rating something as a classic just because other people say it's a classic when you don't personally enjoy the record is almost the most pretentious thing you can do as a reviewer.

Maintaining a certain degree of objectivity is one thing but believing that the quality of an album is untouchable is just stupid and ultimately misleading.

I hate the 'classic' tag that comes with a 5 on sputnik anyway. To me, 5 just means perfect. Never mind 'classic'. Otherwise how could you give something new a 5?

xfearbefore
October 28th 2010



1245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh no I agree Knott that forcing yourself to give high marks to an album you don't like so as not to appear unfashionable or unintelligent is not only pretentious it's ultimately foolish because the only person you're lying to really is yourself. What I mean though is that great music, even of a genre one doesn't like, can definitely be identified. For example, I absolutely despise the genre of country-pop that dominates the chartwaves these days, but when I listened to Taylor Swift's new album I didn't immediately dismiss it because of that, and I listened to the album objectively, noting the pros and cons of the release and I ultimately gave it a good rating because even though it personally wasn't something I'd ever really listen to, most of the album was extremely well-produced, well-played, and well-written.

I get what you're saying though and I totally agree. Classic and perfect are pretty interchangeable to me, actually I'd probably say calling something "perfect" is more praise than calling it a classic, as there are quite a few classic albums I could think of that are not completely perfect in every single way.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2010



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

rate based on personal enjoyment, not the influence of the album

case fucking closed

Comatorium.
October 28th 2010



4106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i dunno. the vocals are the best part of this.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2010



20856 Comments


Whattaya mean “cock-rock nonsense”?

This sounds interesting… Especially the bit about the strings, piano & horns being integrated. I guess I – as you state in the review – just have to get over those vocals.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2010



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

the vocals are so great

atavisticguilt
October 28th 2010



139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is really fucking good. I want can haz.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2010



23807 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lol, don't go dropping your rating in a week now.


I rarely de-5 an album. Lot's of thought goes into my ratings haha.

Comatorium.
October 28th 2010



4106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah i sort of 5'd it when i realized that i havent felt this way about trophy scars since the first time i heard hospital music, and that absolutely everything about this EP is cool. i seriously cant say a word against it.

Comatorium.
October 28th 2010



4106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

bad luck was solid 4.5

Gyromania
October 28th 2010



15506 Comments


Comatorium has it exactly right.

PanasonicYouth
October 28th 2010



7411 Comments


what the shit did not expect this or even know it was being released

handoman
October 28th 2010



2386 Comments


love this but still not as much as Bad Luck


PanasonicYouth
October 28th 2010



7411 Comments


HOLY FUCK ITS HANDOMAN OMG

handoman
October 28th 2010



2386 Comments


oh hi



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy