The Doors The Soft Parade
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jethro42
October 18th 2010



12375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Though we are both classic rock nuts, our objectivity level differs a big deal.

same story for your Black Sabbath' ratings isn't it

Nagrarok
October 18th 2010



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well, I've applied twice. I don't know if I've actually been considered.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2010



7140 Comments


Third time lucky, hopefully =) I feel this approach of "documentareview" is particularly nifty, as it provides what is oft missing in many a review: context.

Jethro42
October 18th 2010



12375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nag needz to review moar indie.
héhéhé

LepreCon
October 18th 2010



3590 Comments


I predicted exactly that comment Conor. Though we are both classic rock nuts, our objectivity level differs a big deal. A pretty big deal, if I may say so.


Such is the beauty of 'agree to disagree', my friend

Nagrarok
October 18th 2010



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I feel this approach of "documentareview" is particularly nifty, as it provides what is oft missing in many a review: context.


I always to to include a bit of history, particularly with my discography reviews, but it's not always appreciated.

Nag needz to review moar indie.


Actually they should be happy that I'm not reviewing indie since everybody else is doing it already.

LepreCon
October 18th 2010



3590 Comments


I love how every indie album that comes out gets an instant 5 nowadays here

Jethro42
October 18th 2010



12375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Actually they should be happy that I'm not reviewing indie since everybody else is doing it already.


This is a very good observation. Good way of thinking too.



Nagrarok
October 18th 2010



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

same story for your Black Sabbath' ratings isn't it


Well basically if you have an album Conor and I both like, just add at least one whole mark to my rating and you'll have his.

Jethro42
October 18th 2010



12375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Voilà hahaha


cinaedus
October 18th 2010



26298 Comments


"I love how every indie album that comes out gets an instant 5 nowadays here"

Except The Age of Adz is a 5.



Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Fuff24
October 18th 2010



1118 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

all the people is amazingly terrible. Morrison sounds like he's on the verge of falling asleep

Irving
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2010



7140 Comments


You sound a tad disillusioned Nagrarok haha. But maybe it's just the fact that emotions are hard to read online.

I'm a huge fan of context-based reviews, so keep it up - goes without saying I like the stuff you produce.

(hope that doesn't sound too fanboyish lol)

xfearbefore
October 18th 2010



1245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review, I've always loved this album though. It took some time to grow on me but after many listens I started to really love this album, it's a different sound for The Doors but that doesn't make it bad.

Digging: Tiger Army - Tiger Army

WatchItExplode
October 18th 2010



3203 Comments


"I love how every indie album that comes out gets an instant 5 nowadays here"

Except The Age of Adz is a 5.


Yeah, it really is...actually I would say that there are some parallels in Sufjan stirring the pot and generating expansion of conscienceness based on his amazing album...of course to a lesser dgree based on when they came out of course


Nagrarok
October 18th 2010



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

all the people is amazingly terrible. Morrison sounds like he's on the verge of falling asleep


No doubt he was trippin' when they were recording it.

You sound a tad disillusioned Nagrarok haha. But maybe it's just the fact that emotions are hard to read online.

I'm a huge fan of context-based reviews, so keep it up - goes without saying I like the stuff you produce.

(hope that doesn't sound too fanboyish lol)


How nice, I have a fan. I don't know why I would sound disillusioned though. Anyway, don't worry, more of these kind of reviews will follow.

xfearbefore
October 18th 2010



1245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Age of Adz is definitely not a 5. Neither are half of the albums people splooge themselves over on here that no one has ever heard of. Every Radiohead album gets a 5 while people shit on The Beatles and Bob Dylan. It's astounding.

WatchItExplode
October 18th 2010



3203 Comments


valid point fearbefore but I give out 5's pretty sparingly...I can't think of a more deserving 2010 album, whether or not it fits with your taste

Nagrarok
October 18th 2010



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Hey guys wrong thread

xfearbefore
October 18th 2010



1245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah don't get me wrong Age of Adz is a great album, but it just kind of irks me how quick people on here are to award 5's to every good new release from an indie band, and then turn around and refuse to hand out 5's to groups like The Beatles or The Doors, usually on albums that are universally accepted as masterpieces.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy