Panda Bear Person Pitch
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
exitsense
October 15th 2010


402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol sure, why not?

Digging: Chief Keef - Nobody

GodspeedEmperor
October 15th 2010


115 Comments


dear iscarabaid,

your review sucks

neg'd




i'm not kidding

Xenophanes
Emeritus
October 15th 2010


10662 Comments


^ damn dude

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2010


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Personal stuff in this review doesn't bother me, but this does:

On a site called Best Ever Albums, I of course placed Person Pitch above Merriweather Post Pavilion in my personal Favorite Albums chart. A user commented, "great chart. pity you have person pitch above merriweather post though"

Really now? Prefer which you will, but I refuse to see how Merriweather has anything on thisblah blah blah a lot more talk

And now that we've heard Down There, it's becoming clear that Panda Bear is not only one talented ingredient in the collective, but may be the crucial element into what makes the collective's music transcend to such incandescent heights. See, Person Pitch and Merriweather Post Pavilion stand above their oeuvre as remarkable works of psychedelic pop that submerge us into an atmosphere gorgeously thick in sounds, something about avey tare blah blah make a huge leap till we get to But on Down There, he chose to swamp his pop under dollops of reverb and aquatic effects. Why, now, would he do this? And why does "Lucky 1" sound uncannily exactly like Panda Bear's signature style, only with Avey vocals and Merriweather/Strawberry Jam bloops? Is it too prejudiced of me to accuse Avey of running out of ideas and merely following Panda's footsteps? After all, it was Panda Bear who first introduced the heavy reverb sound into the collective with his album Person Pitch; their very next LP and EP both expanded upon that sound because Panda Bear had contributed it so.


None of these things need to be compared, and just another drop in the huge ocean that separates Tomboy from its release date. Down There? Really? Let's not forget that Avey Tare tours as a DJ, or that, uh, Summertime Clothes was his. Two musicians from the same band experimenting with similar styles? WHOA!

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2010


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Though I do like the review otherwise 8)

exitsense
October 15th 2010


402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks...I think I'm just overwhelmingly biased toward Panda Bear so much because I like Person Pitch
so much.

merriweather
October 15th 2010


619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm Noah Lennox's future wife btw hence my last name Lennox (:

JubJub12
October 15th 2010


24 Comments


weired review, but it's good. Different

exitsense
January 4th 2011


402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey everyone, I don't want anyone to get the wrong idea about this review. I wrote this review at a
period of time in my life in which I had low self-esteem and almost no control over my emotions.
This review functions not as an objective review but one that is a work of art itself, expressing
false logic in a passionate way. At that point in my life I had been so consumed by art that I
couldn't even express my logic objectively.

I see art now as not selfish, but selfless. Using art to escape from reality is the very definition
of a mental disorder. A healthy person uses art to relax and find love.

I give up on being a music reviewer really. Or at least for now. It's not congruent to what I need
to grow as a person. It may be congruent for other people depending on their personality type but
it's not congruent for me.

If anyone wants to understand more about what I was going through at the time I wrote this review I
suggest you research more about borderline personality disorder. Also the film Black Swan expresses
the intensity of the borderline personality disorder (Nina has it).

If you liked this review and could connect with it while reading it, you will probably enjoy Person
Pitch. If you think my review sucks and don't see the point in it at all, you will probably not
enjoy Person Pitch.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2011


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

omg. you were always a chill guy, for what its worth.

exitsense
January 6th 2011


402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I should tell you also that I was merriweather/indiechick. She was basically my...other personality. My black swan. My id.

I'm learning the importance of being confident and not doing things like that... I've got to take very small steps at it though. Not easy for a sensitive borderline like me.

couldwinarabbit
January 6th 2011


6996 Comments


This >>>>>>>>> MPP.

exitsense
January 6th 2011


402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Person Pitch is an introverted album and MPP is an extroverted album

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2011


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I should tell you also that I was merriweather/indiechick. She was basically my...other personality. My black swan. My id.


mind=blown.

DoubtGin
January 6th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
January 6th 2011


7026 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'm uncomfortable all of a sudden

Gyromania
April 1st 2011


16074 Comments


I seriously overlooked this one.

aok
April 6th 2011


4457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i really hope someone who really and truly feels the new album is a 5 out of 5 can write about it half as eloquently as this is written

YetAnotherBrick
June 23rd 2012


4518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

review is amazing, sad that it has such a short thread

Digging: Soul Coughing - Ruby Vroom

Ethics
October 4th 2012


4112 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i really hope someone who really and truly feels centipede hz is a 5 out of 5 can write about it half as eloquently as this is written




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy