Sufjan Stevens The Age of Adz
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2010



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i mean okay go ahead and be sarcastic if you want but i didn't write this review to cater to people like you who have CRAZY MUSIC KNOWLEDGE

i don't write reviews for sputnik's userbase, i write them for everyone aka people who aren't snobby douches about music. i only really used the term "composer" to talk about how the word is viewed in modern times by pretty much everybody aka composers were only around in beethoven/mozart's time which is pretty fucking clear when you read the review without singling out one sentence

natey
October 13th 2010



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0


you're looking into it too much

what's that mean

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2010



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it means you singled out one particular sentence and focused all your amazing mental energy on it

in other words you TOOK IT OUT OF CONTEXT and MISREAD IT and THOUGHT I MEANT BEST WHEN I SAID PROMINENT

conradtao
Emeritus
October 13th 2010



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

See I'm operating under the principle that "composing" and "songwriting" are different things. I realize that this is an unpopular/elitist view but that's just where I stand. There are exceptions to the rule on both ends of the spectrum - Newsom has talked about it before. It's an interesting topic, and my view is that although I think composing and songwriting are two somewhat different arenas, neither is more or less artistically important or valid than the other.

conradtao
Emeritus
October 13th 2010



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"i only really used the term "composer" to talk about how the word is viewed in modern times by pretty much everybody aka composers were only around in beethoven/mozart's time which is pretty fucking clear when you read the review without singling out one sentence"

but see that's where I completely disagree, yes the modern conception of "classical music" is that it's written by dead Europeans but the term "composer" is used very often to describe artists today, not EVERYBODY views the word "composer" in that regard

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2010



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that's all well and good as long as you realize that it doesn't matter at all in the context of this review

i'm sorry i riled your feathers by using a term to describe someone that you don't think is accurate but i mean whatever that's just the nature of criticism

conradtao
Emeritus
October 13th 2010



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuck, i meant that not everybody views the word "composer" as an archaic term

you can't generalize about the public either

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2010



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

pretty sure i can do whatever i want, if you don't like it we can talk about it

but the bottom line here is we've just got a case of DIFFERING VIEWPOINTS. i know you're trying to present your side as IRREFUTABLE FACT but it's not.



mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2010



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

fuck, i meant that not everybody views the word "composer" as an archaic term

you can't generalize about the public either


yeah i like how you generalize that the majority of the public DOESN'T view composer as an archaic term

i mean you just fucking said the opposite of what i said and told me not to generalize

i didn't even say anything about the general public jesus CHRIST

natey
October 13th 2010



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

See I'm operating under the principle that "composing" and "songwriting" are different
things. I realize that this is an unpopular/elitist view but that's just where I stand

I don't think it's really unpopular, it just doesn't make any sense. Want to justify it (somehow)?


it means you singled out one particular sentence and focused all your amazing mental energy on it


in other words you TOOK IT OUT OF CONTEXT and MISREAD IT and THOUGHT I MEANT BEST WHEN I SAID
PROMINENT[

YOURE RIGHT

an i feel your 5 is well enunciated with the whole passion/soul and emotion thing I just still hear
ugly and annoying music too much to join the 5 clan

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2010



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yes thank you nate, i was hoping that part of the review was what people would take from it

conradtao
Emeritus
October 13th 2010



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"The variety of sounds present on The Age Of Adz might cause one to use a word like "pointless," but the music here represents everyday life in all its mundane drudgery, all the little moments that seem meaningless and are not remembered while we lay in bed, and at the same time the music embodies what life could be if we would just follow the path, if we would just follow our hearts, if we would just stop fucking around, if we would cut our bodies open and rip out our souls and turn them into something that means everything."

like.

anyhow your argument is valid and i think mine is too, just trying to see how you feel about it. i mean, obviously you didn't go into detail about how you were using the term "composer" since it wasn't relevant to the review itself, so at least when you explained it here i understood what you meant. i don't agree per se but i understand it. i'm not trying to present my argument as irrefutable fact, i'm just stating my viewpoint. it's always silly to extrapolate from one sentence but that stuck out to me..

conradtao
Emeritus
October 13th 2010



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I don't think it's really unpopular, it just doesn't make any sense. Want to justify it (somehow)?"

Songwriting often (fuck, generalizing again) has different intents than composing. When you're writing for the voice (the natural human voice) you approach melodies differently, you approach chord structure differently, etc. I think a 'composer' operates under a different mindset and considers slightly different elements. It's not really about instrumentation, it's about how you approach the work and think about form. Verse-chorus-verse is a consolidated sonata form, and on the flip side, minimalism is heavily influenced by pop inflections/sounds/structure. The difference is in the deliberateness.

goddammit

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2010



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

as i knew it would to some people, i don't blame you for it or hold it against you. always nice to have some lively discussion

vmcoia91
October 13th 2010



555 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just came here to say good review Chan!

natey
October 13th 2010



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Keeping songwriting separate from composing is really just semantics and an unimportant arguement.
still, historically music started with singing and lots of "composers" like Bach wrote with choirs and
"composed" operas.

and to say that verse-chorus-verse is "consolidated sonata form" is to piece things together
backwards. Humans tend to form things certain ways, evidenced by the similarities in novel, film,
song, and piece constructs. One doesn't result from another.

thebhoy
Emeritus
October 13th 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Chan I love when you emphasize points with caps.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2010



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

sometimes i just gotta

natey
October 13th 2010



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

SOMETIMES

Enotron
October 13th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

getum chan



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy