Gold Panda Lucky Shiner
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2010


7026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Listening to this right now and I'm very impressed. This has been the best year for electronica in recent memory.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2010


10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love You, Snow & Taxis, and Vanilla Minus, but I can't get the other tracks to grow on me really. Can't decide between a 3 and 3.5 for this one.. I'll give it the benefit of the doubt.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2010


15053 Comments


this is lovely.

Romulus
December 21st 2010


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

been meaning to check this out for a while

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2010


15053 Comments


it's really nice. some field-esque tracks here, yes (as many people pointed out already (though secretly that may be because the field is basically 90% of my exposure to the whole "minimal techno" gener)) but not boring at all or anything (though i love the field too, don't get me wrong). it's sort of wintry to me. comforting but in a sad way (and to think i'm getting all this from "just beats"!). sort of like a sonic goodbye hug.

Romulus
December 21st 2010


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hahaha these comparisons are kind of lost on me cause i've never heard the field before. start there before i start here?

Ponton
Emeritus
December 21st 2010


5806 Comments


Think Four Tet too Rom

Digging: Ben Howard - I Forget Where We Were

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2010


15053 Comments


nah not necessarily


get em both, or somethin!

edit: these were both @ rom. sorry observer! four tet is a legit comparison!

drinkinirishtonight
January 7th 2011


9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

3.5 for now but i'm pretty sure this will grow on me

WashboardSuds
January 21st 2011


5025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, gonna check out this record now. Sounds pretty good

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
January 25th 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good to hear

FatChickIrl
January 25th 2011


4096 Comments


Liberi spoke!

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
January 25th 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Makin' me sound like a dumb deaf mute or something.

FatChickIrl
January 25th 2011


4096 Comments


No lol, you just remind me of a rare pokemon or something. In a good way lol

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2011


10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is #11 on my top 10 Albums of 2010 list.
I'm sorry, Gold Panda...

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2011


10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree, certainly!
I find Marriage so catchy.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2011


10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Snow and Taxis and Vanilla Minus never get old for me.
Besides, of course, when they do get old. Which still isn't very often.

Kimdracula
March 11th 2011


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"You" is Apollo 11

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2011


15053 Comments


you is so good

i really love snow and taxis too

cbmartinez
March 12th 2011


2525 Comments


so i'm pretty impressed with this. the fantastic elements that make "quitter's raga" so good are replicated and explored in more depth on this. i love how he has the glitchy sound, everything is chopped up so heavily that it gives it this abrasive disconnected sound while being so appealing, catchy and danceable. i love the extra track that comes on the extended release "Greek Style," anyone else dig that track? also love "You," "Vanilla Minus," "Before We Talked," "India Lately," his samples are so interesting. It's great how unique it sounds while having that distinct UK sound too. gonna be spinning this a lot



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy