Sufjan Stevens The Age of Adz
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bitchfork
October 3rd 2010



7584 Comments


Yeah I know. Can't believe p4k hasn't 10.0'd this yet.

"when exactly is that? I always wanted to know how its spelled out correctly ;C
"
It's suf-yun stevens

gaslightanthem
October 3rd 2010



5209 Comments


bit late to the party but good review keelan,,

ConsiderPhlebas
October 3rd 2010



6157 Comments


Postmodernist theory isn't just a chronological successor to modernism; how on Earth can your professor deny its existence? Is he suggesting that all the contributors to it are unknowingly stuck within modernist boundaries?

thebhoy
Emeritus
October 3rd 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

basically yes. Like I said, I don't totally buy it, but I thought it fit with what I wanted to say about this album.

I'm actually kinda interested to see what p4k give this to be honest. More curious than anything, I would imagine it's either > 9 or < 3.

Enotron
October 3rd 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

gonna either be like 4.3 or 9.1

ConsiderPhlebas
October 3rd 2010



6157 Comments


Yeah it works in the review. Just don't get it.

thebhoy
Emeritus
October 3rd 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think he means it more in a broader sense, such as the three aspects I talk about in the review, instead of in a more stylistic sense. I mean, nobody is really writing like Joyce anymore.

cinaedus
October 3rd 2010



26447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i will always refer to him as soof-john

Digging: The Suicide Machines - Destruction By Definition

thebhoy
Emeritus
October 4th 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

then forever you be wrong

natey
October 5th 2010



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Quite simply he is an excellent composer and The Age of Adz, underneath all of its whizzes and bangs, is an eloquently constructed tapestry of melody, counter-melody, harmony and orchestration."

I don't know if you're saying he is an excellent composer because of the "eloquent construct(ion)" of the "tapestry", or more he's excellent AND there are eloquently positioned melodies, counter-melodies, harmonies and orchestration, but I'd like to make the point that the saturation, complexity (amount of layers in the music) and integration of specific musical ideas Sufjan uses here do not connote excellence. And to exclude the whizzes and beeps from the underlying tapestry is to not listen to what Sufjan is doing. Judge the total project, how it all sounds, not how intellectually credible it is. Even composing oodles of layers of music rooted in upper tier "tonal harmony" topics shouldn't have influence overreaching the basic sound.



thebhoy
Emeritus
October 5th 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ummmm. Kay so I'm saying he's an excellent composer and that the Age of Adz shows this. I do not say that all these layers connote excellence, I say that the "eloquent" way in which he constructs these layers connote excellence. I then further explore this with a few examples of horn sections and I think I mention some of the strings.

I do judge the total project as the paragraph before talks about the electronic elements and then in my connecting sentence to the next paragraph I talk about the juxtaposition between the electronics and orchestration. So no, I do not exclude the electronics from the equasion, I simply talk about what's going on besides it after talking about it for half of the review.

natey
October 5th 2010



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha, thanks for clarifying. So you don't justify ridiculous farting noises by the rest of the music. You love the way they work. Or you dig them because they evidence anxiety or disjunction? Or you just dig them and I'm being boorishly nosy!

I wasn't really examining the review (which like you say deals with both aspects, the "Ordinary and Extraordinary" as Sufjan would say), more your personal feelings. I caught a little bit of a "whizzes and beeps are chaos and Soof losing his marbles and ridiculous" vibe so I wondered if you looked past it for your personal 4.5 rating or if I was misreading you.

thebhoy
Emeritus
October 5th 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't know if I dig them so much as I'm utterly fascinated by this record. I mean, I actually very much enjoy the music, and have grown to say that this is a solid 5, and not just for the review purposes. I think I find the electronic elements just as another piece to a puzzle that is ultimately, what the hell was he thinking kind of thing. I mean, some of the electronics are really great, some of them distracting, but at no time was I really put off by them. I don't know if that makes sense. I just have this overwhelming feeling listening to it while writing this review that this is the most interesting album (in multiple senses) that I've heard in a long time and I was trying to put that into words, and for me the connection was modernism. Weird, but idk it worked I guess haha

rmill3r
October 8th 2010



167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't take this as me saying it's a bad review (I pos'd it), but this is almost more of a thesis paper than a review!

I've only listened through the album once so far, and I am superbly weirded out. But I'll be giving it a few more close listens so I can write my own review.

Good job. Good points.

thebhoy
Emeritus
October 8th 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks miller, yeah I was trying to balance between an essayist type format and a review. I suppose I would call it a formal review, or an informal essay. I tend to set all of my reviews up in a similar fashion.

rmill3r
October 8th 2010



167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I like that format. I like to relate the simple fact of whether or not this is worth listening to, yet analyzing it as a work of art, too.

Supernewman1
November 8th 2010



22 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great review man! I agree you should be a staff writer, very enjoyable read.

Just wanted to add some comments regarding the modernism thing, which is basically that this album actually comes off very postmodern to me. Considering some of the tenants of postmodernism when applied to music (link at bottom) include challenging the low and high style barriers, challenging notions of structural unity, intertextuality, contradictions, eclecticism, and more.

The beauty of postmodernism is that because of its plurality and relativism there is still a large role available to other methods of thought, ie. modernism. So many postmodern works will have elements of modernism anyways, I've also had professors who have downplayed postmodernism and I think that's just ridiculous. Also "nobody is really writing like Joyce anymore" is quite true, but he is really the only one who ever wrote that way haha.

thebhoy
Emeritus
November 8th 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks man,
I'm kinda on the fence about his argument that there is no such thing as post-modernism, pretty much the only thing of the aspects you mentioned that isn't in modernism is challenging the low and high style barriers. Although you could argue that some of the modernists did anyways, like The Portrait of the Artist by Joyce, he starts off by writing like a little kid. I don't know, I'm still formulating my opinion, just when I was writing the review this topic just seemed to fit perfectly with what I wanted to say.

Supernewman1
November 8th 2010



22 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah for sure, to me how I always saw the whole modernism and postmodernism thing wasn't in the techniques, because as I see it those can't really just be created or new. There will always be earlier works displaying techniques definitive or characteristic of a movement started later. Instead I see it in the focus and intent, I suppose is the best way to put it.

Where the modernist works I've encountered tend more towards questions of authority or certainty (lets question and challenge the past to find certainty through an adequate authority), the postmodern works tend towards plurality uncertainty or relativism (lets question the legitimacy of the pasts claims and our very ability to be certain). And I always felt more of a kinship between the latter and Age of Adz than the former.

Yeah, Joyce did the same thing in Dubliners, the characters in the stories gradually got older too. Very beautiful and effective, especially in Portrait.

ti0n
November 11th 2010



1383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Better than Illinois. Period!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy