Sufjan Stevens The Age of Adz
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
October 2nd 2010


1588 Comments


For me this review is half centred around Sufjan himself in 2010, the rest around the album. You do enough to connect the two and demonstrate how the album reflects his current state. Though for me, your 5 rating reflected more on Sufjan, the album itself not quite warranting that. Though in one of your comments you do make a point of saying the album is more of a 4.5 for you.

All that said, I don't see why you're not a staff reviewer. The review was well thought out and written better than 99% of reviews on sputnik. Well done old chap.

Romulus
October 2nd 2010


8443 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

this was significantly better than illinoise really i was pleasantly surprised. but that equates to like a 3ish for me.

BigTuna
October 2nd 2010


5161 Comments


what a fucking review. I seriously had no intention of listening to this, but now i'm definitely considering downloading it now. Great, great review man.

Digging: Yellowcard - Lift a Sail

BigTuna
October 2nd 2010


5161 Comments


i mean, when i started the review i was like "pretentious review, no way he can do this" but then you did

thebhoy
Emeritus
October 2nd 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah, I was well aware at the "pretentiousness" of the review at the start, but I figured if I kept it with a matter of humour it wouldn't be alienating, especially to those who wouldn't really know what I was talking about. And thanks Liberi

Gyromania
October 2nd 2010


15941 Comments


liking this a bit more but still wtf is going on lol

Okay, I'll say this: the auto-tune part of Impossible Soul is absolutely atrocious, and although I say it's probably my second to third favorite track on the album, that part is a huge detractor and the rest of the song proceeding that particular section is good, but doesn't seem to live up to its opening 10 minutes until it concludes on a beautiful acoustic note. Still, your rating for this seems way too low, musically it deserves more than a 2.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

LiquidVelvet
October 2nd 2010


628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a really fantastic album. And an absolutely amazing review to back it up.
The only real issue I keep coming across with this album is that it doesn't have any true standout heartbreakingly gorgeous songs--like every song is excellent, but none of them quite reach the heights of John Wayne Gacy Jr, The Seer's Tower, Flint, or For The Widows In Paradise. I feel like if it just had one song like that, it would push it to a 5 for me.

thebhoy
Emeritus
October 2nd 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't know, I think I Walked is pretty heartbreaking

liledman
October 2nd 2010


3826 Comments


holy shit...

still need to check this out.

crank
October 2nd 2010


332 Comments


incredible review

LiquidVelvet
October 2nd 2010


628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I don't know, I think I Walked is pretty heartbreaking"

No, I mean, it has a lot of songs like that, but none of them quite have that stand-out OH MY GOD power, yaknow?


Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2010


7026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First few tracks made me want to give this a 2. The second half redeems the album somewhat.
I never feel like listening to this.

Bitchfork
October 2nd 2010


7584 Comments


Album is so awful.

Gyromania
October 2nd 2010


15941 Comments


No you don't, hence your 2

Enotron
October 2nd 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

lawl gettouttaa here b4k

Bitchfork
October 2nd 2010


7584 Comments


It's a bunch of homogenous layers that have absolutely nothing to do with songwriting whatsoever. Random beep-bloops and brass sections don't equal a good album by any means.

Enotron
October 2nd 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

...they do in eno's eyes : ).....

Gyromania
October 2nd 2010


15941 Comments


Homogeneous, haha.... right.

Random beep-bloops and brass sections don't equal a good album by any means.

Good thing there's actually a lot more going on then, eh

Slum
October 2nd 2010


2579 Comments


Such an ironicfork

Bitchfork
October 2nd 2010


7584 Comments


I had an abortion joke but I'll keep that one to myself.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy