Swans Children of God
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
porch
September 30th 2012



8452 Comments


i don't even like them that much, stop being such a dork

pointing out the flavor of the month hiveminding and hyperbole that goes on here isn't being elitist either

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2012



14991 Comments


a lot of your, riff's, kill's (maybe? probably) criticisms levied against people who--oh dear!--really
like The Seer is that they haven't heard all the other swans albums and thus their opinion is somehow
made less legitimate, which really doesnt have anything to do with "hiveminding" or "hyperbolic"
opinions, although with regard to the latter i'm not even sure what you could say to counteract such a
non-issue ("you like this album too much"? "calm down"?)

say what you will but this sort of shit is definitely predicated upon a "i like this band better than
you like this band" mindset--which, yeah, elitism

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 30th 2012



23798 Comments


lol (@ porch and everyone missing his point)

Tyrael
September 30th 2012



20740 Comments


the point is that this album rules agreed hard aids

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2012



14991 Comments


i dig the nara leao avatar tho

Tyrael
September 30th 2012



20740 Comments


it always surprises me how much depth there is to porch's comments

eternium
September 30th 2012



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This thread reeks of bitch.

Butkuiss
September 30th 2012



4110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't worry. The sex in his soul has damned him to hell anyway. It's just a matter of time now.

Jruined
September 30th 2012



1289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Rules. I do like the Seer better though.

greatlookingguy
September 30th 2012



594 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol

porch
September 30th 2012



8452 Comments


a lot of your, riff's, kill's (maybe? probably) criticisms levied against people who--oh dear!--really
like The Seer is that they haven't heard all the other swans albums and thus their opinion is somehow
made less legitimate, which really doesnt have anything to do with "hiveminding" or "hyperbolic" opinions


most of the comments along those lines are jabs at sowingseason's review where he talks about the sound of their earlier records and their progression without having even listened to them. thus making his opinion less legitimate. you actually don't know what i/they are talking about

and yeah, splurging all over one album in an artist's discog without showing much interest in their others is a pet peeve for some people. understandable i think

i'm not even sure what you could say to counteract such a
non-issue ("you like this album too much"? "calm down"?)


who gives a shit, it deserves to be ridiculed

porch
September 30th 2012



8452 Comments


say what you will but this sort of shit is definitely predicated upon a "i like this band better than
you like this band" mindset


said the same shit when defeater reinvented music back in 2011 and i don’t like them at all

greatlookingguy
September 30th 2012



594 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

robertchoda b00m

cinaedus
September 30th 2012



26298 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i've listened to their discog so my opinion on the seer is legitimate!

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

YoYoMancuso
September 30th 2012



10889 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

imo nothing beats the stuff they released in the '90s

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012



23798 Comments


"and yeah, splurging all over one album in an artist's discog without showing much interest in their others is a pet peeve for some people. understandable i think"

i kind of agree but don't you think it's also understandable to "splurge" all over a new album before expanding to the rest of the back catalogue (especially if it's the first material by the band that they've heard)? I just recently got into Okkervil River for example. instead of dl-ing all 6 LPs I'm focusing on one at a time and moving along at the speed i feel like moving at. i mean 90% of these people will never check out another Swans album so i do see what you're saying, but at the same time I think it would be more ridiculous if they were all running all over the place consuming all of Swans' albums as quickly as possible.

idk it's a lost cause; just let them have The Seer.

Jruined
October 1st 2012



1289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What exactly is the issue with the Seer? I've been listening to Swans for 20+ years and Filth is still my favorite album by them, but the Seer is a fantastic album.

So is it just because of one reviewer who enjoyed the Seer as their first real listening experience with Swans?

I think Aids sort of has it right, excepting the fact that for most people, once they find one album by an artist that they like, they will go back and check out their other releasees.

Then again they will be dealing with Jarboe (who I really enjoy) which can be daunting.

cinaedus
October 1st 2012



26298 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

jarboe rules.

Jruined
October 1st 2012



1289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed. Still not sure why people dont' enjoy that Neurosis/Jarboe album. It's the Yin to Neurosis' Yang, depending on
where you are standing of course. Fits incredibly well in both of their discographies though.

Piglet
October 1st 2012



4653 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

why can't we just enjoy all the music wat



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy