Bad Religion The Dissent of Man
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrizzMatik
September 26th 2010



3185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude... what? Ad Hominem literally sounds NOTHING like the song you mentioned (and btw it's "Let Them Eat War"). And comparing it to I Love My Computer? FFS it's not THAT bad, the melody/harmonies are pretty top-notch. If anything it's a rewrite of Watch It Die, being that it's got the same exact tempo and chord progressions. And who cares about the lyrics really? BR write some great lines here and there but they get really cheesy too, and they've been saying pretty much the same thing for the last thirty years anyways.

If you listen to some of Brett's Daredevils material (and acknowledge his unabashed love for Bruce Springsteen/Tom Petty/Neil Young) the mid-tempo stuff would make a lot more sense, but then again they've ALWAYS had mid-tempo songs on every album so IDK why it's so surprising. I agree that Brett dropped the ball a bit on this record and that both Where The Fun Is and Turn Your Back On Me should have been b-sides at best, but I think Graffin saved it pretty handily. And if the album isn't great, why did you give it a 3.5 (which designates "great") albums. Your opinion reads more like a 2.5/3 tbh.

I definitely wouldn't put Pride And The Pallor up there with Only Rain. I wouldn't even put it in the top 50 BR songs really, but hey, fucking opinions how do they work???

descendents1
September 27th 2010



702 Comments


This didn't impress me. A lot of the lyrics are fun and clever at times, but overall they don't really bring anything new or different musically. It's a solid 3, a 3.5 is a bit of a stretch.

Not enough harmonies. Certainly better than New Maps of Hell. Not as good as Empire Strikes First. That was fun. This is kind of boring at times.

lackesse
September 27th 2010



38 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can say that this album is more accessible than NMOH and I have a better feeling listening to this album.Graffin wrote better tunes this time than Brett IMO.For me 3.7/5 so far.The last 4 songs except Ad Hominem are kinda fillers."Turn Your Back On Me" is the worst song from them (IMO)."This is where the fun is" has cheerful-wannabe chorus,don't like that song very much. The last song is very folk/rock-happy chorus thingy,not a bad song generally(radio friendly),but it's not my cup of tea.Overall the album is GREAT for me.I'm really positively tuned to this album,reaaally like it.Oh,and the main riff from "Meeting Of The Minds" is sooo great.You have to love that sinister feel about it.

mitch91
September 27th 2010



409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I completely disagree with what people have said about the end of the album being weak. The last 4 are some of my favourites on the album (as well as Won't Somebody), I think the melodies are great.

Digging: Dry The River - Alarms in the Heart

StrizzMatik
September 27th 2010



3185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I don't get for a second anyone who thinks this is less than a 3.5 minimum. If you want TESF/NMOH... go listen to them. This is good on its own terms and has a unique sound for a BR record which I'll take any days over them pretending to be 20 again.

GulliKyro
September 27th 2010



357 Comments


I agree with the review in relation to trimming the excess fat. Albums like this tend to lose their lustre after the 30 minute mark. What goes before is solid though, quite mellow for a Bad Religion record.

Srangerthanficti0n
September 27th 2010



98 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The best Bad Religion album for about two decades IMO

Phantom
September 27th 2010



8930 Comments


Really enjoying this album so far. Only Rain is the best track for me.

Will probably end up being a high 3.5 rating.

mitch91
September 27th 2010



409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listening to this has made me re-assess The New America- its not actually as bad as I thought, it has more of a pop-rock vibe than the country/alt rock of this. No Substance is still shite though.

The lyrics on this aren't as...cutting as previous albums, but after 30 years I think they've earned the right to change it about a bit.

mitch91
September 27th 2010



409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The production is great too.

MassiveAttack
September 27th 2010



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Production never bothered me with BR. Listen to their debut, it's really shitty, but it is still a great album and the production doesn't hinder it in my opinion. This album's production is pretty good, but I can't get by some of lyrical content on here. That seems to be my gripe about this, but whatever they've been doing this how long and still manage to keep at it without making another No Substance, which was fucking horrible like Mitch said. There are a lot of things to be disappointed about and a lot of things to be optimistic I suppose.

xfearbefore
September 27th 2010



1245 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So holy shit this one is a real grower, my first impression was that this was just average Bad Religion at best, but after listening to the album another 3-4 times I have no idea why I thought that at first as the first 3 songs are all fantastic. Originally gave this a 3, definitely going to have to bump it's rating up now.

descendents1
September 27th 2010



702 Comments


If you play this in the background at a coffee shop, no one will notice. Someone might say "Is this the new Bad Religion? It's good." But they won't drop their coffee. This is a 3 because Bad Religion has been making variants of the same album for the last 10 years. It cannot be held even close to Suffer, Against the Grain, Generator, or No Control. Those are 3.5-5 albums. This isn't.

Maybe it's the rating system that's screwed up? I don't know what it is, but people love to overrate material on this site.

StrizzMatik
September 27th 2010



3185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you play this in the background at a coffee shop, no one will notice. Someone might say "Is this the new Bad Religion? It's good." But they won't drop their coffee. This is a 3 because Bad Religion has been making variants of the same album for the last 10 years. It cannot be held even close to Suffer, Against the Grain, Generator, or No Control. Those are 3.5-5 albums. This isn't.

Maybe it's the rating system that's screwed up? I don't know what it is, but people love to overrate material on this site.

Who the fuck is listening to BR at any coffee shop? LOL. And what exactly is overrated? The songwriting is great and it's opinion, which can't be quantified in any meaningful way without being biased towards your own. Who exactly looks for BR to challenge/evolve for every release? Their strength is consistency, not innovation.

All of the albums you mentioned are 4-5's really

donaldo11
September 27th 2010



53 Comments


Stizz: You didn't really address any of the substantive points I made in my post. Instead, you kind of just went off on a tangent about Ad Hominem (which I think is an absolutely cringeworthy song, but that was really just an aside to my main points) and then you noted that I transposed a few words in the title of "Let then Eat War". You didn't really do much to address anything I said in my post. If you care to, here is a summary of the three main points I was making about the album:

1. Brett and Greg wrote two totally different albums that essentially having nothing to do with each other stylistically.

2. The pacing of the album is a total disaster, with all of the poor material backloaded on the latter third of the disc.

3. The album needed to be twelve songs long (a point you did briefly touch on)

You could also create a fourth point which would basically read that the album suffers as a result of the first three points, and is in no way deserving of a 4 out of 5 rating. I probably overrated it myself by giving it a 3.5. Its more like a three, but I was really impressed with Graffin's half overall, which probably accounts for the overrating.

Nitroadict
September 28th 2010



133 Comments


lol @ NMOH being "forced". Someone forgot to take out the garbage :p

Nitroadict
September 28th 2010



133 Comments


@descendants1: Uh, over-ratings? You check out UltimateGuitar in the last few years?

SM is pretty tame in the over-rating department compared to UG, imo, especially when UG has a bunch of over-zealous, politically correct mods who do it themselves & encourage such idiotic behavior.

donaldo11
September 28th 2010



53 Comments


^^^Oh, I also forgot note that I did notice you address some of these other points in your well-written review. Nicely done! A four though? Just not sure about that...

Masochist
September 28th 2010



8012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can dig a 4. It's not simply the dichotomy of song authors that needs to be looked at to appreciate this, it's also the band as a whole. Greg hasn't pulled vocal work like this since about 'The Gray Race' (and before that, 'Against The Grain'), and it's definitely the best of his career. The harmonies are astounding in some of the songs...oh, and yeah, you can hear ALL THREE FUCKING GUITARS on this album.

No, it's not perfect, but it's a good damn album. Right now, I have it rated 3.5, and it may stay there for me, but I absolutely think a 4 can be justified (considering I rated both 'New Maps' and 'The Gray Race' 4's, I'm sort of inclined to say that ;-)...).

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

StrizzMatik
September 28th 2010



3185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol @ NMOH being "forced". Someone forgot to take out the garbage :p

Yeah, actually. It was forced and it sounded like it. It was BR trying to rewrite Suffer and No Control and pulling it off musically with none of the songwriting quality of either record in an attempt to go "see we can still play fast!". And that doesn't even include the horrible production, the five or six instantly-forgettable tracks, or The overall lazy songwriting.

donaldo: I explained why I felt it is a 4 pretty well in the review. It doesn't really matter to me that Greg and Brett took different songwriting styles on this album. They're not so OMG different that it causes a problem with listening and the music on the album isn't too different from anything they've put out before at some point. I like the poppy tracks and the standard BR songs equally in many ways and despite most of Brett's half of the album being sub-par, it doesn't sink the album. I can deal with 12 out of 15 songs being pretty good to outstanding.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy