Funeral for a Friend The Young And Defenseless
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
THIEF
September 11th 2010


237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Glad you thought so. And yeah, I was in the same boat. After Tales I thought there was no way they would go back to their old ways. Luckily they are one of the few bands that actually listen to their fans.

GulliKyro
September 12th 2010


357 Comments


I find older FFAF to be unlistenable garbage so I'll likely avoid this. Very well written review though, you should opion more often.

Deathcar
September 15th 2010


1534 Comments


So is this worth a listen then? Have always loved Casually Dressed... but their later stuff is pretty meh.



THIEF
September 15th 2010


237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh this is most certainly worth a listen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7fDRyP6Ceg

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just to clarify, the name of this EP is 'The Young and Defenceless'.

defenCeless.

Speaking of spelling mistakes, the review has far too many. My page went red when I copied and pasted this to a spell-check.

Mordecai.
September 15th 2010


8281 Comments


lol daveyboy and grammar. you tell 'em.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

1st review I guess, so I should go easy. Apologies to DelMar.

But does anyone call the band "The Funeral"?

THIEF
September 15th 2010


237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh, I didn't upload the album info on sputnik, someone else did Daveyboy. I only wrote the review. I take NO credit in that error haha.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No probs.

Also, in the review, you say the EP is 20 minutes. Am I missing something, because what I have is only about 13?

THIEF
September 15th 2010


237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Your right, I'm just an idiot and can't count. Oh and I checked the spelling on the review, the only one I noticed was the fact I repeatedly said ep, rather than EP. That is fixed.

Now do you have any comments on the actual concepts discussed in the review?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

From memory, there is a vaule instead of value & a wether instead of whether.

Review content - and your opinion - itself is actually quite good, although the review is too long for a 13 minute release. I'm also surprised that (from memory) only one song is specifically mentioned... Although I sort of know why and you do describe the general vibe & sound of the EP as a whole really well.

THIEF
September 15th 2010


237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I caught the "vaule" error earlier. And yeah I tried a little too hard to stray away from a track by track in this review,
thus the omission of any specific track analysis. By the way, someone should fix the error in the album title. As I said
before, I didn't originally edit that info so I don't think I can fix it now.

Dogget
September 17th 2010


781 Comments


unlistenable garbage What a twat.

I was on the brink of giving up on these boys, never should've doubted them.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Funeral For A Friend’s u-turn to the heavier sound displayed in their formative years is one step away from being complete… And if the 4 track ‘Young and Defenceless’ EP is any guide, then it is a process which will leave every fan they have picked up along the way in raptures. While all songs are musically hard-hitting & contain drummer Ryan Richards’ near forgotten screams, each of them are still accessible, immediate & catchy. Sure, it’s only 13 minutes worth, but all pointers suggest the Welsh quintet are on the right track. Recommended Tracks: Serpents In Solitude & Damned If You Do, Dead If You Don’t.

schwarzekatze7
October 7th 2010


41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Amazing review! Exactly my opinion on bands development. I am truly happy that FFAF manged to make an awesome EP. FINALLY!!

TomAkaVeto
November 27th 2010


1685 Comments


"it almost seems like they're becoming a generic post-hardcore band like alesana and a skylit drive."

You've got to be kidding! This is miles beyond either of those bands.

SCREAMorphine
December 29th 2010


1761 Comments


Was really surprised by this after the album before, a good surprise

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm looking forward to their new LP just to see what it brings.

THIEF
December 31st 2010


237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nice, this made it to the honorable mentions of 2010.

DurzoBlint
January 4th 2011


1195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Most enjoyable listen I have from this band is this EP. I want to listen to the next LP.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy