Tera Melos Patagonian Rats
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NeutralThunder12
September 6th 2010



8742 Comments


great review Eno, I had heard one track from this band's earlier album and loved it, but it seems this is them doing something they are probably not so great at. I hate when experimental bands go pop. Maybe I'll check this out one day

Enotron
September 6th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

thanks a bunch man

Xenophanes
Emeritus
September 7th 2010



10553 Comments


pos'd. The severe lack of butthurt negs is testament to a very well done review. Good work.

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

dcha
September 7th 2010



989 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I really like the vocals. This is AOTY for me.

astrel
September 7th 2010



2613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album is a mess. But I love this mess.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2010



6920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"but it seems this is them doing something they are probably not so great at... Maybe I'll check this out one day"

You should really listen before you decide that, a lot of people think this is great and their other releases with vocals were well liked too.

tombits
September 7th 2010



3463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Review is fine but I really just don't agree with it at all.

Thane
September 7th 2010



2110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, and I can see why people would agree with it. I personally love all the things you seem to hate though haha. Its just so fresh.

brutebeard
September 7th 2010



1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3? Yeah right!

mecca
September 7th 2010



87 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's a good review, but i can't say i really agree w/ it. i don't want to say you missed the point, cz that's pompous, but i do think there was a rift between what you were expecting and what the band intended. and i think the band really pulled it off.

i think i myself may write a review, as an amiable response to this one, one which says why the majority of people who've heard the album seem to love it.

one point of mine is the subtitle. the reason this album is already the funnest album this year is in part because it IS a pop album. the band really took out all the indirect approaches to their music--the jazz is all but gone: very little in the way of improvisation and whatnot. the hectic nature of the album can be overwhelming, but it's only so in a casual and completely approachable nature (as you said, hooks abound EVERYWHERE here, be them in the vocal melodies or instrumental).

another thing about the vocals--and everything else here--is they come off as unpretentious. really, it sounds like 3 really smart Dudes decided to make a record together, which is particularly rare in the genre "math rock" (if you so wish to call Tera Melos that). it's especially odd because the technicality of the music itself hasn't suffered in the slightest, which i have NEVER seen before (for math rock bands who become poppier). it blows my mind they could keep the same sophistication (if not the jazzier touchstone) while becoming at the same time essentially a POP band.

i mean, Eno, you're definitely not alone, and i think this review is important in showing how big a leap the band has taken in making this album.

so yeah. i'll try to write a review. i don't know whether it will get published here, cz i've never written a review for Sputnik Music. but who knows. it certainly won't have the grammar as seen here haha.


my 2 cents

mecca
September 7th 2010



87 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

explanation of the Dude comment: i'm just talking about how [[[warm]]] the album is. despite the hordes of weird chord progressions and tons of odd times, the album really never drops how dancy or catchy it is. i even found myself tapping my foot and nodding my head to points at which the signature was 11/4! the album never feels DISTANCED from the listener--it never feels as tho the band is on some pedestal, up on high somewhere . . . the band seems as in the living room of some random guy's house, playing alongside everyone else. a sort of modest sophistication, something.

had this album been released earlier this year, it would have been my album of the summer. DAMN YOU SERGEANT HOUSE.

mecca
September 7th 2010



87 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's completely understandable that, for a few, the new sound will need some growing.

i'm sorry for my comments, i keep thinking of something else to say, and most of it is obvious anyway, haha.

ti0n
September 7th 2010



1157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Bad review. Awesome Band. Awesome Album. The Staff should post their review, because this is such a shame.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

astrel
September 7th 2010



2613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And what if the staff dislike it? Would their reviews be "bad" as well?

ti0n
September 7th 2010



1157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

They won't because i know it.

HighandDriving
September 7th 2010



3232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decent review, but this is better than a 3.

Enotron
September 7th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

lol how is this a bad review?

oh and @mecca thank you for posting your opinion, but I'm afraid that this album just doesn't grab my attention. in my last paragraph I explain that it's incoherence isn't immediately noticeable, but it was the lack of flow that eventually got me to notice this. The vocals, in my opinion, could've been extraordinarily catchy, but they just never made their presence clear enough in my opinion.

Enotron
September 7th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

@highanddriving

opinions, sir. i've been getting tons of comments saying well the review is good, but I don't agree.

last time I checked this was something top number 3 out of 2010, tons of soundoffs from pleased fans. I'd really like to see a positive review, but as far now I posted this to provide a counter-opinion. I tried to analyze it somewhat objectively, making a clear nod at their attempt at being a poppier band and I explained how the way this change juxtaposed the more jubilant, wild instrumentals came off as distracting and somewhat nulls the truly unique sound they would have had if they stripped the vocals. I explained how the vocals would've been nicer if they found their niche, which I really thought they didn't.

eh. well I expected more troll negs than two, so I must be doing something good.

mecca
September 7th 2010



87 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

idk, i found the album to flow very smoothly.

the reprise of the riff from The Skin Surf helps give the album a cyclical motion. relief from the rest of the album can be found in Frozen Zoo, whose mellower method is begun by the latter half of Trident Tail. and the pace overall is generally versatile as well, anyway . . . from the rocketing beginning (the first three-song suite) to the Gina (second part)/Another Surf repetitiveness.


who knows. i've listened to it probably 30 times already, if not more. i'm still discovering things every day.

mecca
September 7th 2010



87 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh and that was @Enotron



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy