Ozzy Osbourne Diary of a Madman
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bfhurricane
May 14th 2007



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isnt a review of the song, its a review of the album. The song is quite good and makes up for what lacks in a few other songs.

Wolfy
November 15th 2007



101 Comments


This Album is genious. And Believer is an excellent song, especially Randy's guitar solo for it(although I like the live version on Tribute more). S.A.T.O and Diary Of A Madman are both superb metal songs with really cool intro riffs. Giving this masterpiece below a 4 is a tragedy IMO. I like every song Randy Rhoads created, and his contribution to these paticular songs on this record are no exception to that. RIP Randy Rhoads

ExcavatedSkull00
April 15th 2010



59 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ozzy with randy rhoads is cool rhoads was a classical guitar teacher and experimented on diary. Some bands just keep the same old crap churning album after album.Oz stayed through to himself but i lost him after no rest for the wicked.

mark7477
August 28th 2010



392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

diary of a madness is a pretty good i think it's the second best out of the first 2 albums.

gumballthechewy
June 21st 2011



17 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm sorry, but I must STRONGLY disagree with you. While it is a very well written review I think it is a great album.

Also Believer is one BAD ASS song. Very powerful.
Also also, Diary of a Madman is just epic, very moving, just a masterpiece.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 30th 2011



1840 Comments


To me this is ozzy's best album. It just sounds much more evil and melancholic,courtesy of the last two tracks. And 'You can't kill rock 'n' roll' is just flawlessm/

Digging: Black Anvil - Hail Death

DominionMM1
October 1st 2011



9526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Diary of a Madman is just epic, very moving, just a masterpiece [2]

Digging: Neurosis - Through Silver in Blood

rockandmetaljunkie
October 1st 2011



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best album from Ozzy after his solo carrer debut.

BigHans
October 17th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

YOU CANT KILL ROCK N ROLL m/

TheNotrap
October 17th 2011



7978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

SCREAMING AT THE WINDOW
WATCH ME DIE ANOTHER DAY

TheNotrap
October 17th 2011



7978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

SCREAMING AT THE WINDOW
WATCH ME DIE ANOTHER DAY

Siamois
February 22nd 2012



40 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Diary of a Madman is a great album. I can understand why some people were disappointed as a follow up to Blizzard of Ozz because it takes a little longer getting into many of the songs. Blizzard is just one amazing song after another and they are generally slightly catchier and make an impact right away.

I just revisited Diary this week and I was surprised at how well it has aged. Lots of very haunting and cool songs but they take a bit more time to build up. It's much better than I remembered.

Plus, I think the title track is the best song out of Ozzy's entire solo career.

thrashman88
March 22nd 2013



2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What a lame review! It's true that music is in the "ear of the beholder" and tastes vary. But you only have to see the score of this album by most Sputnik users and see it actually ranks just as high as "Blizzard Of Ozz". "Diary" is the work of a more mature band and it features Randy Rhoads most accomplished guitar work. The songs are more elaborate and in some cases take a bit of time to sink in, and when they do you'll agree that they're even more enduring than the ones on "Blizzard". The title track ALONE is worth the entire album, with its brooding atmosphere and nostalgic performance by Ozzy. "Diary" is also a much darker album than "Blizzard" and much heavier too. The guy who reviewed this probably heard it once or twice or was probably born in the 90's. Again, just look at the score of this album and you'll see that I'm not the only one praising this cornerstone of an album!

JohanSpoonman
March 26th 2013



7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The songs take more time to grow on you here, than on the previous album. But when they do, yea. A much heavier, darker feel to this album.

It´s a shame Ozzy hasn´t played more songs from this album live, istead of constantly repeating his setlist with at least half of the blizzard album in every concert. (I mean, wasn´t it ´til just a few years ago that he played the title track on one show..)
And he also have 2 of his best ballads on this one, with superb lyrics : Tonight and You can´t kill rock n roll!

DominionMM1
July 15th 2013



9526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shut the fuck up

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2013



15785 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great album

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

manosg
February 3rd 2014



5690 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

TONIIIGHT

TOOONIIIIGHT

IS IT JUST A RHAPSODY

OR AM I RIIIGHT

Digging: Donovan - Sunshine Superman



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy