Letlive. Fake History
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Emeritus
August 24th 2010


15744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Does this make the entire collected works of Igor Stravinsky worse than Avey Tare's greatest artistic achievement? "



yeah. it does. in your opinion.




Well that killed any chance we had of having a conversation that isn't retarded

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


"Well that killed any chance we had of having a conversation that isn't retarded"

do you really think music isnt opinion-based

like do you think a team of Musical Scientists could come up with like an ultimate list of albums ranked based on their "objective value" and we could like qualify people's tastes based on how much they aree with it

Enotron
August 24th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hmm. yeah but a personal favorite is something that hits home and the best is one you as an individual see that is the best written, produced, and best effort. people have favorites for often quirky reasons, feels is also my favorite album but Kid A is obviously a better album. it is attempting some sort of musical objectivity, but it is still speaking from a subjective point and chambered is speaking for himself.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


im honestly shocked people in this day and age still hold fast to the idea that art is objective

" yeah but a personal favorite is something that hits home and the best is one you as an individual
see that is the best written, produced, and best effort. people have favorites for often quirky
reasons, feels is also my favorite album but Kid A is obviously a better album."

what no this is so terrible why

if an album is better youll like it more what

why would i think an album i dont like as much is better--the one that i like more is better because
i fucking like it more.

Enotron
August 24th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

word

Electric City
Emeritus
August 24th 2010


15744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

do you really think music isnt opinion-based




this is not what i said at all. you're qualifying objectivity as a series of "positive qualities" which make good music, and no one fucking keeps track of that. i just concede that im not enough of an ass to say my opinion is better than anyone else's and that the tallest man on earth isn't more of a genius than beethoven even though i prefer listening to the former way more

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


i actually have no idea what you mean by that

@fromtheinside

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


"i just concede that im not enough of an ass to
say my opinion is better than anyone else's and that the tallest man on earth isn't more of a genius
than beethoven even though i prefer listening to the former way more"

(im assuming by "more of a genius" you are sort of edging away from "better" but thats what you
really mean) if one makes better music than why would the other one be better

i know im going in circles but all the shit that beethoven did, the innovation of his music, the
intricacy, the whatever, none of that matters if you prefer listening to tallest man on earth

"you're qualifying objectivity as a series of "positive qualities" which make good music, and no one
fucking does that."

actually thats exactly what chambered did

Electric City
Emeritus
August 24th 2010


15744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sometimes chambered doesn't think things through

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


so tell me is that not what you are doing when you (seem to imply, at least) that igor stravinsky is objectively better (or at least as good) as feels

Enotron
August 24th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol its true




i lol'd

Electric City
Emeritus
August 24th 2010


15744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@robertsona:



no. from a cultural perspective, stravinsky or beethoven or anyone in that vein are culturally influential, massively successful, beloved, and generally discussed as "brilliant" by people far smarter and more knowledgeable than I'll ever be. I am okay with this. And I suspect that many of those people don't call the composers I just mentioned makers of their favorite music either. There just comes a point where it's important to not be retarded and argue to people that an album by Linkin Park that you still hold dear because of nostalgia is a "better" work than something that is actually brilliant.



Which isn't to say you can't have favorites. But it is important to acknowledge that the emotional response they trigger in you is an experience unique to you and that it is okay to like something while acknowledging it is probably "objectively" worse than a thousand other pieces of music ever written.

cagovnold
August 24th 2010


23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have a question:



What is "better music"?

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


"rom a cultural perspective, stravinsky or beethoven or anyone in that vein are culturally
influential, massively successful, beloved"

this is basically the process i described only you sneakily added "culture" or whatever instead of
"music"--and really...you're conceding that your opinion is "wrong" or "off" or whatever (as
compared to the "objective" standards) simply because people "smarter than you" (wtf does this have
to do with music) say so? c'mon.

"There just comes a point where it's important to not be retarded and argue to people that an album
by Linkin Park that you still hold dear because of nostalgia is a "better" work than something that
is actually brilliant. "

okay what makes something "brilliant"--i think youll find that the process you use to determine
that, really, is the one i described

"But it is important to acknowledge that the emotional response they trigger in you is an experience
unique to you and that it is okay to like something while acknowledging it is probably "objectively"
worse than a thousand other pieces of music ever written."

if something triggers somethign in you that makes you like it better than another piece, that first
piece has simply done its job better, no matter how much you try to objectify it by saying "but the
second piece is well-written and culturally important and influential and LOTS OF MUSICAL SCHOLARS
SAY ITS BETTER"

do you really think music isnt opinion-based


this is not what i said at all.


also id just like to clarify that what youre "really" saying is that it's indeed opinion based but
those opinions in the grand scheme really mean nothing because they need to be conceded to the
"objectively right" standard

East Hastings
August 24th 2010


4397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dammit people use [quote] tags

Enotron
August 24th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the last paragraph in your post really distorts the original comment chambered made

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


"if i listen to 3 minutes of fart noises that somehow i connect with a lot on the same album with a 10
minute orchestrated classical piece that doesn't hit me as hard as the fart noises, i could say that
the fart noise song is my favorite but obviously the classical piece is "better" lol"

i know this is the part where most people drop out and are like "ok im done with this" but i disagree.
obviously, 99.whatever% would agree that the classical piece is better because we as humans simply
like the sound of classical music is better than fart noises

but if the .001% of the human population (consisting solely of Bitchfork) likes the former better,
it's not like theyre OBJECTIVELY wrong, if it sounds better to their ears.

Enotron
August 24th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's not like theyre wrong




but he was never suggesting that!



personally he found the other track to be of more musical quality, but the other track was simply his favorite. it is a subjective viewpoint. jesus.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


no actually i think saying that one track is objectively the best is indeed implying that anyone who
thinks otherwise is wrong

East Hastings
August 24th 2010


4397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well. that was a hell of an argument.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy