Letlive. Fake History
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SeaAnemone
August 20th 2010


21300 Comments


same here fti, I thinky think

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
August 20th 2010


6013 Comments


Hard to pick out my fav highlights other than muther, they're all really great.

cheers ec and alex

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 20th 2010


32004 Comments


Nice one Jared

SpottedTrout
August 20th 2010


545 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

awesome review man.

Romulus
August 24th 2010


8478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was not aware you reviewed this but awesome job. This album is really really good.

Romulus
August 24th 2010


8478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Seriously? It's my favorite here by far. But to each his own and all

East Hastings
August 24th 2010


4397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just listened to this for the first time last night and it slays face



but the clean vocals get a little whiny sometimes

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


i hate hate hate it when people say shit like that

East Hastings
August 24th 2010


4397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

like what?

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


things that imply music is objective and personal preference has no reflection on what is the "best"

cvlts
August 24th 2010


9169 Comments


Renegade '86 still slays for days.

Digging: Old Wounds - The Suffering Spirit

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


6013 Comments


listened to this earlier today

still love every track

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


"there's nothing wrong with that i can personally like one song more than another song but the other song might be better in terms of how it's written and such"

nah thats wrong because if one was written better you would like it more

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


is the fact that they kick your ass more (which i think is what you are ascribing to your preference
of theme) not part of "how they are written" (i.e. you say muther is "better-written" but dont seem
to think the ass-kicking of the other two songs is a sign of "good writing")--and is muther's lack
of kicking your ass and lack of personal connection you make with it not something that it's "worse"
at than those two songs?

i think you are letting your own opinion take second stage to what you think "should be" the best
which is silly, whatever songs you like more are the best (for you); whatever songs i happen to like
are the best (for me); etc theres no need to objectify this stuff

you describe in an objective way all the things that are good about muther but if they dont make you
like it more than the other two songs then who cares?

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


yeah and i just explained why theyre not, sorta

theres no objective best, there are only favorites (which i guess can be referred to as "personal
best"s)

anything else is silly

Electric City
Emeritus
August 24th 2010


15744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^yes (edit: @chambered)



but muther isn't the best song by a longshot

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


oh cmon ec you dont really believe that do you

Electric City
Emeritus
August 24th 2010


15744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there is certainly a difference between objective best and favorite



example: My favorite album of all time is Feels. Does this mean I can't concede no other piece of music ever made is better? Does this make the entire collected works of Igor Stravinsky worse than Avey Tare's greatest artistic achievement?



As much as we like to say it doesn't exist, objectivity is around in some capacity.



anything else is silly

Enotron
August 24th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

what i hate is when annoying people like you get hung up with somebody saying a simple comment such as "muther is the best song"

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


15098 Comments


no it's not thats so dumb

"Does this make the entire collected works of Igor Stravinsky worse than Avey Tare's greatest
artistic achievement? "

yeah. it does. in your opinion. and you're not Objectively Wrong, nor is the person who
thinks feels is shit and igor stravinsky is awesome

i mean cmon: let's suppose the objective best on this is indeed muther

does that mean, for anyone who makes an "album ranking" or whatever, that someone who has muther at
number 1 is right, and that having it at 2, 3, 4, 5, etc is progressively more "off", or "wrong"?

we can make a sort of list of things that make music "good" (this is what chambered was doing in
support of muther being the "objective best") just because we almost always happen to
agree on them. an out-of-tune guitar is "bad", most people agree. but that doenst make someone who
likes the sound of it have bad taste, or "wrong" taste.


eno: it's when people say "this is the best, but these are my favorites". especially in the context
of one fucking album. it's like saying "my opinion is slightly off " or something



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy