Menomena Mines
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've got a crapload of potential new releases to review right now. so I definitely won't be reviewing something from 2003. But yeah, IAtFBM is definitely worth a listen cbd.

As for this album, a lot of the tracks that people like, are the ones I don't like. Lunchmeat, Oh Pretty Boy, Sleeping Beauty & the opener don't do a great deal for me.

crazyblinddude
September 13th 2010


3389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Maybe one day Davey. Maybe one day I'll write a review.

But I'm giving it a listen right now. I can already tell this is going to be my favorite of the discog.

thebhoy
Emeritus
September 13th 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You don't like Sleeping Beauty or the opener? You crazy

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Crazy Davey.

ChrisStingray1224
September 19th 2010


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Unbelievable album!!! I just love the whole weirdness and emotion behind the songs.

Kiran
Emeritus
September 24th 2010


6001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

finally getting around to this

thebhoy
Emeritus
September 24th 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bout time Kirgy

MichaelPhelps
September 26th 2010


144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Creative Portland based trio Menomena continue to grow & mature with another captivating & distinct album full of intricate melodies. Similar to its predecessors, ‘Mines’ displays the band’s skill in controlling such a diverse range of instruments & musical styles, while still making an accessible release. ‘Mines’ is a little more down-tempo however, meaning less hooks & reduced immediacy. A touch overlong at 54 minutes, it is a little front-loaded & is their most inconsistent LP yet… But the better songs here are seriously top-notch, especially the captivating ‘Tithe’. Recommended Tracks: Tithe, Five Little Rooms, BOTE & Dirty Cartoons.


Note: If you want to give a short summary review, use the sound off feature.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
September 26th 2010


3771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't you go raining on Davey's Parade now.

Digging: Grouper - Ruins

DiceMan
September 26th 2010


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh my god that's such a fucking awful pun.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
September 26th 2010


3771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ill fucking Dice you

DiceMan
September 27th 2010


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

StreetlightCock

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
September 27th 2010


3771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its an R

DiceMan
September 27th 2010


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whats an R

thebhoy
Emeritus
September 27th 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

a pirates favourite letter.

Kiran
Emeritus
October 3rd 2010


6001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love this

predictably

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So what are these guys like live? Do they replicate all their crazy sounds & loops well?

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 3rd 2010


3771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pitchfork recently had a couple of videos of them playing live - their set up is surprisingly spartan: http://pitchfork.com/tv/%23/episode/2831-menomena/1

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That was awesome. TAOS sounded great live & Five Little Rooms is just a super track.

CaelTaylor
October 12th 2010


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Holy bejesus! Just saw these guys saturday and it was astounding. Out of the songs that they played, I can't think of anything that was left out or not just made better. Their set list was solid. To fill some of the sound, a few members of the touring bands joined in (guitar, trombone, and some vocals).

Danny is a beast. Just to say.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy