Menomena Mines
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
lobby
August 30th 2010


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dirty Cartoons ;(

about to 4 this

thebhoy
Emeritus
August 31st 2010


4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lobby are you suggesting you don't like Dirty Cartoons? If so, I think you'll find you're wrong.

DiceMan
August 31st 2010


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can we just kill him?

lobby
August 31st 2010


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is ;( not universal for crying? It's such a sad song that I feel I need to shed a tear...oh

thebhoy
Emeritus
August 31st 2010


4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh, I didn't realize that. Okay, we're cool again Lobby. I can see why it would remind you of Mew chambered, I mean, they don't really sound the same, but I can se where you would find the comparisons.

thebhoy
Emeritus
August 31st 2010


4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like the instrumental middle section of that song, it's so mellow but there's so much going on at the same time. Then his voice comes in again and it's like YES

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2010


23818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't mention the three best songs on the album: Dirty Cartoons, Tithe, and BOTE.

Weird review, I kinda read it as a negative review.

JWT155
September 9th 2010


9245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, just got this and I like.

Digging: Death From Above 1979 - The Physical World

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just been going through their discog & all 3 albums are pretty good. Their debut is super fun.

JWT155
September 9th 2010


9245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea, it's getting close to the end of the year so I'm trying to dig through everything I was interested in and stuff, should have checked this out earlier.

thebhoy
Emeritus
September 9th 2010


4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also wtf I just realized you spent so much time comparing these guys to KoL. Menomena are so much more talented holy shit I hate that you compared the two, like unreasonably hate.

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2010


6094 Comments


Don't understand the hate for the noodling in Lunchmeat. Doesn't detract from the song in the least.

thebhoy
Emeritus
September 9th 2010


4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know, in fact it isn't really even noodling, it's made up of parts that all come in together on the second half of the track, they just separate them. I think people sometimes underestimate how intelligent of songwriters these guys are.

Taxt
September 11th 2010


639 Comments


There are a lot of little details like that on this album that really give it some depth
Vinyl should be here ssssooooooonnnn

Lakes.
September 11th 2010


27730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

still in the top 5 of the year imo

Digging: Arthur Russell - World of Echo

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Creative Portland based trio Menomena continue to grow & mature with another captivating & distinct album full of intricate melodies. Similar to its predecessors, ‘Mines’ displays the band’s skill in controlling such a diverse range of instruments & musical styles, while still making an accessible release. ‘Mines’ is a little more down-tempo however, meaning less hooks & reduced immediacy. A touch overlong at 54 minutes, it is a little front-loaded & is their most inconsistent LP yet… But the better songs here are seriously top-notch, especially the captivating ‘Tithe’. Recommended Tracks: Tithe, Five Little Rooms, BOTE & Dirty Cartoons.

crazyblinddude
September 13th 2010


3389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This wasn't as quircky as their last album, but seemed pretty solid to me. A little bit better musicianship imo.

Never checked out their debut though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed on your first comment cbd. This is a high 3.5 for me. Will probably sneak into my top 25 for the year.

But their debut will remain my fave. It ups the quirkiness, but it's more the piano that gets me on I Am The Fun Blame Monster.

crazyblinddude
September 13th 2010


3389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm no Davey Boy review for it.... yet.

Gonna have to check it out now. More quirkiness is always a plus for me.

DiceMan
September 13th 2010


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sleeping Beauty is really great Daves.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy