Pain of Salvation Road Salt One
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dreamflight
August 1st 2011


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a nice album, but gets old really fast.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2011


6716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gets old really fast.



i humbly beg to differ on that, because i haven't listened to this in months, yet i can bring the basic melody of each song in my mind easily.



this has good replay time, i believe, because it was made with sincerity.

Digging: Spectral Lore - Voyager

Dreamflight
August 1st 2011


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with the sincerity, but still, after two months I couldn't hear the whole thing again, maybe it's just me, who knows. :P

OmairSh
August 27th 2013


12561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've had such a difficult time getting through this album its ridiculous, esp considering its POS

Digging: Symphony X - Underworld

stabbler
October 5th 2013


1427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great album. great band.

eaglefan1998
June 4th 2014


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not a prog album, but still one of POS best in my opinion

EnyaFangirl
September 4th 2014


1159 Comments


Could never really get into this band. LOVE Nauticus, but outside of that, meh.

This album in particular sounded cool on paper but I found the execution a bit lacking.

OmairSh
June 15th 2015


12561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

WE PRETEND IT'S PERSONALLITAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYY

Jethro42
June 18th 2015


13046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sisters is a great song. I managed to digest the new POS virage. Not a fan of the new drummer though. Johan Langell was incredible and hard to replace.

OmairSh
June 18th 2015


12561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah sisters has a great mood. I actually really like Leo, he's got a great sense of feel and groove. Johan was obviously superb, but Leo's a pretty good replacement considering the shoes he had to fill



POS doesn't get enough love round these parts

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
June 18th 2015


4232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed he's a competent drummer, more groove-based than Johan, which To the Shoreline showcases to a good degree. And also the more mid-tempo stuff.





This might be a bit closer to a 3 though there still is enough to keep things somewhat interesting. I'm assuming Curiosity is a single and I don't care, but I really like that one and Linoleum here.

OmairSh
June 18th 2015


12561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think Johan had a great sense of groove, but the musical complexity meant that he didn't have many areas to show the groove side for lengthy periods



Curiosity is great

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
June 18th 2015


4232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Of course he had groove too although compared to Leo he's more the prog metal archetype, in the sense that their previous albums called for more powerful and overall more technical approach. But he also had some tasteful fills and complex rhythm structure and last but not least, a great ability to show restraint where needed.

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
June 18th 2015


4232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I play drums myself, so I can tell that they both are talented musicians obviuosly ;P

OmairSh
June 22nd 2015


12561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ah then you'd notice the nuances in the drumming. I actually felt Leo was lacking a bit when I heard this album for the first time, but I've started appreciating him more with time. I still think Johan was better drummer and better fit for the band, but as far as replacements go, Daniel definitely could have done a lot worse than Leo.



I agree with your points about Johan, especially the one about restraint. While I do enjoy prominent drumming at times, Johan was a master at complimenting the music without trying to overshadow other instruments.

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
June 22nd 2015


4232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Johan was a master at complimenting the music without trying to overshadow other instruments."



That was what I was trying to say in a nutshell hahahaha





I prefer Johan too. Like Portnoy with DT, he was perfect for the band.



OmairSh
June 22nd 2015


12561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I know that's what you were saying, I just felt like elaborating on it :D. The line up on TPE was the epitome of the band

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
June 22nd 2015


4232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The line up on TPE + RL was the epitome of the band





fix'd. ;)

OmairSh
June 22nd 2015


12561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I meant that lineup on everything they've done. But if we're naming albums then I'd put Be over RL

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
June 22nd 2015


4232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess that's where we wholly disagree haha. ...but yeps, Entropia through Scarsick was quite a lineup, if not counting Daniel's brother cos that was THE lineup.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy