King Crimson In the Court of the Crimson King
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Thor
March 3rd 2006



10168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

After reading all of the hype on this album I'm very intrigued. I'm a big fan of progressive and I've been wanting to check some new artists out. Is this a must have for the genre?

pulseczar
March 4th 2006



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes yes yes yes. Though I'd recommend Red if you want to hear heavier Crimson, and it's a better album.

Thor
March 19th 2006



10168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

No way, Moonchild rocks! It's the trippiest song on the album and it just shows how they were helping form the progressive genre.

I've listened to this album three times through this weekend. It's simply fantastic.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2006



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Good review, one of the better KC reviews on the site.

This is arguably the greatest album of all time, AKA my favorite. Although the end of Moonchild may drag on just a bit, everything else on this album is pure musical bliss.

Thor
March 31st 2006



10168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Moonchild does seem to be a bit too long, but it's not that big of a setback for me. I do like when it starts to get beserk in the interlude where everyone jsut starts to make a bunch of noise. The build up to that part, though, is too long.

Jimmy
May 21st 2006



717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The first time I listened to this album years ago, I was floored. And that album cover is just so cool.

listen to this album on vinyl, it sounds so much better.

This Message Edited On 05.21.06

Jimmy
May 22nd 2006



717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Clocking in at merely 2:30, ‘Moonchild’ is nothing more but..."

I think you mean clocking at 12:13

rushnerd
June 15th 2006



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Greatest album ever recorded by my standards.

Thor
June 15th 2006



10168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Seems like a pretty bold statement. I love this album to death, but it's not #1.

Zebra
Moderator
June 26th 2006



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just listened to this recently and if Moonchild wasn't so long then the album would be much better. The first and last tracks are awesome, but at certain points in the mid-section the album can get very dull, that's why I've never understood why this record has received so much critical acclaim.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2006



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It's because it makes most of us want to la-la in our pants whenever we hear it.
The psuedo-title track owns. Hard.

pulseczar
June 26th 2006



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

in the court of the crimson kiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiingg ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
man I love my avatar.

The Jungler
June 26th 2006



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It seems like everyone loves this album, I think I'll listen to it soon.

Zebra
Moderator
June 26th 2006



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You might not be to impressed. Sure it's a good album but it's also very boring when you're not in the mood.

Thor
June 26th 2006



10168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hm...I disagree. I can listen to this album at any time and always enjoy it because of their wide change in musical styles.

Zebra
Moderator
June 26th 2006



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's true yet the album has a strange type of atmosphere. It's not depressing nor is it eerie, the music can get intense at moments but at other times it's moody. I think it may cover to many musical styles and since these songs are really lengthy it's just hard for me to sit down and listen to it.

The Jungler
June 27th 2006



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[quote=Zebra]You might not be to impressed. Sure it's a good album but it's also very boring when you're not in the mood. [/quote]
Sans Pink Floyd I'm not too into early prog, so I don't know if I'll like this.

Worth a shot though.
This Message Edited On 06.26.06

pulseczar
June 27th 2006



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is completely different compared to other early prog albums, becuase it basically took prog to the next level.

Hebrew Hammer
June 27th 2006



37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've had this album for quite a while now, and I think it's absolutely brilliant. However, I haven't heard much of their other works, and was wondering if they continued to make albums comparable to the quality of this album, for example Red... I'll have to check it out. Top notch review by the way Pulseczar.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2006



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Lizard is their next best effort imo.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy