Animal Collective Danse Manatee
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
exitsense
July 1st 2013


402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

umm yeah obviously with music like this, conventional notions of "musicianship" are thrown out the window and you have to look at this in terms of how enjoyable and interesting you find this music as opposed to whether you think other people would be able to see it as a classic.

as you can see i currently have this as a 3, i would say it's still far closer to 3.5 than 2.5 and i guess i don't really look back on this album as being that great because i've realized there's a lot of experimental music that interests me more than this and also hollindagain is significantly better than this (to me). but i still wouldn't say that this release is boring. grating, i guess that's part of it's appeal, i would say grating in a good way. and i don't really disagree with my review of this considering it an above average album because it IS an above average album and i feel this release definitely deserves a positive review because it's so underrated.

Digging: Faithful - The Love From Which Catharsis Sprung

exitsense
July 1st 2013


402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Its the least atmospheric by far" -- that's an odd thing to say considering atmosphere plays a bigger part here than melody. it's just not a "pretty" atmosphere or what you would normally think of atmosphere. strawberry jam stands out to me as their least atmospheric...it has some strawberry-esque electronic sounds here and there but it has far more of a focus on avey's singing/melody than on atmosphere.

Kman418
July 1st 2013


11352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

dude lakes i love lush electronic indie rock stuff like this

Sleaper
July 1st 2013


3439 Comments


i agree SJ is one of their least atmospherical albums, i dunno i just dont rate this album very well.
The vibe bores the shit outta me.



Digging: ASAP Ferg - Ferg Forever

Sleaper
July 1st 2013


3439 Comments


shit i meant to say here comes the indian. Im tired GImme a break!

somnolence
September 14th 2013


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great album

somnolence
September 14th 2013


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lots of k-pop lots of avant-garde, d r u g s

somnolence
September 14th 2013


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

has anyone ever done dmt here

ethos
September 14th 2013


1861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no but i wanna X)

ethos
September 14th 2013


1861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

u got some my man??

somnolence
September 14th 2013


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0


no but i gooot mescaline cactussssss

dmt is too intense, near-death intense, i mean to say that u die

ethos
September 14th 2013


1861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my friend died rip

somnolence
September 14th 2013


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the day may never come but we will aaaaallllllllll meet in a huge HUUUUGE island and call it home

somnolence
September 14th 2013


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rip );

ethos
September 14th 2013


1861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he died doing dmt and then he survived so it's ok don't cry like a big baby somnolence go to sleep
instead

ethos
September 14th 2013


1861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

when i was a kid they told me to go play in my father's house back in church is that kinda what the island is like god i love this album so much i used to hate it though!

times have changed...

somnolence
September 14th 2013


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0


No rest i've got thai casssettes only to listen to piled up in queue

somnolence
September 14th 2013


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

times of change [2]

ethos
September 14th 2013


1861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

used to sing this song in church : )

http://youtu.be/25P-CTyf1No

somnolence
September 14th 2013


405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so hip



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy