Ivoryline Vessels
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Reminds me of never take friendship personal a little"

Bing bing right there.

If you're waiting for it to grown on you, it will come with those last 3 songs most of all.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, the 2 albums are very comparable... If you couldn't tell from my review & subsequent comments.

fromtheinside
July 31st 2010


19029 Comments


anberlin is still a bit too tongue and cheek for me sometimes but i understand where you're coming from davey. i'd like to see them drop the friendliness - for sake of a better term (ie. younglife, haight st.) which their new album seems to hint towards.

Digging: Ibex Throne - Ibex Throne

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But didn't you just say that you preferred 'New Surrender' to 'Cities'? 'NS' is a friendlier album due to songs such as the ones you have listed (which i really like btw). I'm confused.

tiesthatbind
July 31st 2010


7380 Comments


Good review DaveyBoy, but I'm skeptical that these guys could make a "4" album based on the few songs I've heard from the debut, sounded pretty average to me. And yes, I've enjoyed every Anberlin album.

Digging: Poets of the Fall - Twilight Theater

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks ttb. Understand your skepticism, but if you didn't mind Anberlin's first 2 LP's, you should like this to some extent.

Winsomniac
July 31st 2010


8012 Comments


Davey, I just looked at your ratings out of curiosity as to what you thought of Lydia and realize you hadn't rated it. Have you heard them? If not, you'd love Illuminate.

Digging: Submotion Orchestra - Alium

tiesthatbind
July 31st 2010


7380 Comments


My friend really likes these guys, so I'll probably be giving both albums a listen pretty soon. There's one song from them that I've heard a lot, I think it was called Remind Me I'm Alive, it's not bad but not really that impressive, I'm usually pretty skeptical about pop-punk though.

And I think Never Take Friendship Personal is actually a very underrated album because of all the attention Cities gets (although rightfully so), so we'll see if I think anything these guys do comes even close to that. I'll return here with my verdict in a few days or so.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah Winsomniac, they have been a band on my 'to listen to" list for a while. I was hoping they would release an LP this year, so I could get into them & then I heard they broke up. I'll get to them one day.

ttb, 'Remind Me I'm Alive' is indeed a song off their debut LP. I didn't think it was one of the highlights though. I wouldn't classify these guys as pop-punk... There were more hints of it on their debut, but just as much that was on Anberlin's debut.

BrahTheSunGod
July 31st 2010


1279 Comments


"So yeah, if you like Anberlin & dislike Ivoryline, I just don’t understand."

I love Anberlin, and I think that's why I have a really hard time getting into this band. Everything feels like an Anberlin B-side, and I keep waiting for that one stellar track that they have yet to put out (though "Be Still And Breathe" off their debut was good in an Anberlin-meets-new-Saosin sort of way).

Also, remember in the Secret and Whisper thread you were talking about how Furney has an abhorrence of catchy, memorable melodies? Feels like the same thing here, only their music relies on catchiness a lot more. Idk, I guess that's why it's falling flat to me so far.

Idk, I've only listened through it two or three times, it might grow on me.

Eko
July 31st 2010


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I love Anberlin, and I think that's why I have a really hard time getting into this band. Everything feels like an Anberlin B-side, and I keep waiting for that one stellar track that they have yet to put out [2]

Winsomniac
July 31st 2010


8012 Comments


Lydia is absolutely phenomenal. If you like Ivoryline and Anberlin, I can almost certainly say that Illuminate will be at least a 4.

soundofsunsets
July 31st 2010


53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ya, Lydia is a fantastic band. However, I would say they are more similar to a band like Copeland rather than Ivoryline or Anberlin.

pixmpy
July 31st 2010


29 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

awesome review, instincts is sooo catchy

Oceanus
August 1st 2010


877 Comments


I am pretty sure these guys are from my hometown/a town next to mine. Went to a few really really early shows and was not impressed.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Interesting thoughts Brah (& Eko)... I actually liked Anberlin's B-Sides album too. LOL. Again, I'm trying to compare both band's 2nd albums. I know it's difficult to do that now as 'Cities' & 'NS' have come out, but I think this equals 'NTFP'.

As for the catchiness comment, I sort of agree they do try & rely on it a little more than they should for most of their songs... And that's where those final 3 tracks come into play & are very promising.

On Lydia, I also had the impression they were much more gentler. That doesn't mean I won't love 'Illuminate' though.

Thanks pixmpy.

Oceanus, off the top of my head, they are from Tyler, Texas.

bailar11
August 1st 2010


2433 Comments


enrique will learn to love this more for you davey boy < 3

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A 3.5 is fine.

LG
August 1st 2010


3049 Comments


I'll wait for Anberlam

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Will that have guest vocals from:

[img]http://g-ecx.images-amazon.com/images/G/01/ciu/9b/86/ecb8c060ada0eca10469a110.L.jpg[/img]




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy