Ivoryline Vessels
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Winsomniac
July 30th 2010


8012 Comments


I honestly just find something over-the-top in his inflections, they seem a bit too much for me right now, but like I said, it's growing on me.

Digging: Submotion Orchestra - Alium

AmericnZero02
July 30th 2010


3360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, Davey. Maybe a few too many anberlin references but I still agree with you on pretty much all your points. And now I'm starting to dig "Instincts" quite a bit more, a deceptive tune indeed. This record is definitely proving to be much more of a grower than TCAL.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"just ordered this. i totally agree with you on the last three tracks. 'you bring fire' is so good. nice review." Now that's the kind of comments I wanna see.

"Wait, yall think his voice is the best part? I thought these guys were like secret and whisper and no one really listened to them for the vocals." Nah, not at all man. Furney (from S&W) has a love it or hate it voice. While Gray may not yet be up to Stephen Christian, he is in the same mould & may do so in the future.

"Great review! I've been thinking about checking it out, since I love Anberlin I'll trust you and go take a listen to this." Ooh, the pressure of trust is on. Just remember you should compare to Anberlin's 2nd album.

"I honestly just find something over-the-top in his inflections, they seem a bit too much for me right now, but like I said, it's growing on me." fair point Winsomniac. I guess he's just trying separate himself from the pack. He never goes "over-the-top" in my view though.

"Good review, Davey. Maybe a few too many anberlin references but I still agree with you on pretty much all your points. And now I'm starting to dig "Instincts" quite a bit more, a deceptive tune indeed. This record is definitely proving to be much more of a grower than TCAL. " Ta Zero. And you're probably correct about too many Anberlin references. I figure if it will make a few more people listen to this band, then it is probably worth it. I thought 'Instincts' might grow on you. It;s lead single syndrome, I tell ya. It just got shaded by the title track as reco #4 though. And yeah, this is definitely more of a grower... The closing 3 tracks make it so almost automatically.

bailar11
July 30th 2010


2433 Comments


"It should be called 'Countries'. It will be bigger than 'Cities'."

rique can only hope

Winsomniac
July 30th 2010


8012 Comments


It should be called 'Countries'. It will be bigger than 'Cities'.

But by that logic, 'Continent' may be the best post-hardcore album of all time.
:D

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

LOL. I think you just found Emery's next album title Winsomniac.

Winsomniac
July 30th 2010


8012 Comments


Except they'd get a punch in the face from Vincent sooooooooo fast.

Conversely, would Anberlin entitle a more focused effort 'Houses'?

[img]http://jimbocyberdoc.files.wordpress.com/2007/10/house3.jpg[/img]

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let's not try to contain Anberlin's talent into such a small area.

Eko
July 30th 2010


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm listening to this now, and it is admittedly way better than TCAL. reminds me of secret and whisper more than anberlin tho. Furney has never been much to my liking but their guitars are too good to pass up. And he sounded better on teenage fantasy

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm glad you like this Eko.

I'm not saying Ivoryline have nothing in common with S&W, but Furney's band has much stronger post-hardcore influences than either Ivoryline or Anberlin.

soundofsunsets
July 30th 2010


53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh man, Search Me Out is soooooooo infectious! Those hooks are out of control.

Winsomniac
July 30th 2010


8012 Comments


I like The Healing more than I should. May bump this up. Damn growers.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually wasn't a huge fan of 'Search Me Out' & prefer those around it.

'The Healing' on the other hand is an infectious disease.

soundofsunsets
July 31st 2010


53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Interesting. Ya, The Healing is pretty awesome. I'm so glad this album is a big step up from their debut.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, theoretically, all bands should improve after their debut. Of course, that's not the way it always works.

soundofsunsets
July 31st 2010


53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, ya. You always gotta hope that bands avoid that sophomore slump.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think what it usually comes down to is how many songs debut album bands have been collating over the years. Even with Ivoryline, they used 3 songs on their debut LP which had already been released on what was a pretty darn good EP. That type of scenario can often lead to a disappointing 2nd album (thankfully it did not here).

fromtheinside
July 31st 2010


19029 Comments


i don't get the hype behind anberlin sometimes. especially since i thought NS was better than cities.

Digging: Ibex Throne - Ibex Throne

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it's tough to put in words fti. I sort of tried to explain it on my review of 'Universes' by Birds of Tokyo last year. Basically, I feel Anberlin (& BoT on that album) somehow (effortlessly) make conventional rock music sound fresh & original without appearing to go out of their way to do so.

Eko
July 31st 2010


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Probably a 3, but maybe a 3.5 if it grows on me. Reminds me of never take friendship personal a little. Still just can get into the vocals though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy