Ivoryline Vessels
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Winsomniac
July 30th 2010



7941 Comments


Can't formulate a good suggestion on this album because I've yet to give it a good chance; check out
There Came A Lion in the meantime, I absolutely adored Cities and thought it was aiight.

EDIT: OMFGWAIORSPOTTING! I'd always respected the living shit out of your writing skills, thought you
inactive and died a little inside. Please return to ze Sputnik.

Waior
July 30th 2010



11421 Comments


aw you're making me blush

i plan to come back full time by september when i move back home! in time to review the new anberlin naturally

Winsomniac
July 30th 2010



7941 Comments


Good to hear; will be waiting to read it.

Davey: pretty good call with the song recs. It's now growing on me a bit, but something about his voice(it might even just be the production) is currently off-putting to me, which is strange because I really enjoyed the vocals on the debut album. But I'll give it a few more listens and we'll see.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Just with a preview I smell an Anberlin-lite and I'm not liking the rip-offness." Oh yeah, there is definitely an Anberlin-lite aspect to this, but again I stress that this is their 2nd album & you could label Anberlin as not as original on their 2nd album as well.

"Sputnik Staff > horrible ex-girlfriends" Unsure how much that is saying, but I'll take it as a compliment.

"what do you mean davey... i am capable of rating things in between 1.5 and 4.5 you know" I was expecting a higher rating for a/your dig.

"riq really liked cities and enjoyed new surrender and dont take friendship personal. would this be to his liking?" Yeah, I think so... Nothing that will turn your world upside down, but you should like it.

"the last album had really good singles and potential" Agreed Caleb... & I think they have sufficiently improved on it here.

"Davey: pretty good call with the song recs. It's now growing on me a bit, but something about his voice(it might even just be the production) is currently off-putting to me, which is strange because I really enjoyed the vocals on the debut album. But I'll give it a few more listens and we'll see." Yeah, it's a definite grower... Which is actually rare for these kinds of albums (they're usually fairly immediate). I'm unsure what you are referring to about his voice... Still the highlight of the band imo.

soundofsunsets
July 30th 2010



53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album, great review. I think Anberlin is actually the band lacking ambition now. Not a fan of their new single.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks SoundofSunsets... I'll take all the agreement I can on this rating.

Ooh, and a counter-strike at Anberlin. I wouldn't read too much about Anberlin's new album by their singles. It's their album tracks that usually have the ambition.

In much the same way, I can't see Ivoryline releasing Made From Dust & You Bring Fire as singles.

soundofsunsets
July 30th 2010



53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's true I guess. But when Anberlin released Cities, they put out Godspeed as their lead single which, in my opinion, is one of the strongest tracks on Cities. Even though I don't like Impossible I still have hope though.

bailar12
July 30th 2010



1766 Comments


love you davey. also love how you respond to everyone's comments usually. :{]

would pos if i still could.

if enrique re-ranked the sputnik staff you would have moved up a spot to #2. willie is currently enrique's favorite, but thats only cuz he never says anything mean. ever. but if your awesomeness keeps up maybe youll claim the #1 spot soon enough.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, 'Godspeed' does rule, but I still think the slower/longer songs are the best.

Enrique & Taylor sitting in a tree...

bailar12
July 30th 2010



1766 Comments


B-L-O-W-I-N-G-E-A-C-H-O-T-H-E-R









i apologize davey this isnt emery thread

dont want that happening again

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hehe.

Must... Keep... This... Relevant.

bailar12
July 30th 2010



1766 Comments


yes... of course. listening to this is really making me want to listen to cities again. this isnt bad by any means, as the band shows lots of potential, but perhaps i would consider it a high 3.5 if it continues how it is.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, that's around the mark rating-wise... And even I (who likes this album) occasionally have the want to throw 'Cities' or 'New Surrender' on after listening to it.

bailar12
July 30th 2010



1766 Comments


rique hopes they can pull off their own version of cities though

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It should be called 'Countries'. It will be bigger than 'Cities'.

TheStarclassicTreatment
July 30th 2010



2909 Comments


guy's voice is boss.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2010



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"boss" is a good thing, yeah?

henryChinaski
July 30th 2010



2459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just ordered this. i totally agree with you on the last three tracks. 'you bring fire' is so good. nice review.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

Eko
July 30th 2010



2119 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wait, yall think his voice is the best part? I thought these guys were like secret and whisper and no one really listened to them for the vocals.

Outnumbered
July 30th 2010



370 Comments


Great review! I've been thinking about checking it out, since I love Anberlin I'll trust you and go take a listen to this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy