Arcade Fire The Suburbs
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DDconjoined
July 30th 2010


327 Comments


too weak for my liking

Supernewman1
July 30th 2010


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This review was much better than the other one. However this review still suffers from a few problems the other one did as well. These problems are founded mainly within the first paragraph. An unrelated, non-needed, subjective as all hell description of the necessity of The Arcade Fire and for some reason a targeted attack on Sufjan Stevens.

Elliot Smith, Andrew Bird, Rufus Wainwright, Belle & Sebastian. These figures are important to Baroque Pop as well, meaning we should not worry about a forebear. It was more of a collaborative move, a group of artists pushing towards the sound and change. The way the paragraph came off was ignorant and needlessly aggressive/defensive. Remember the modern Baroque Pop is a resurgence, not a creation.

Otherwise I wish you gave some more lyrical examples in your second paragraph, I would have liked that. Great review regardless. Definitely better than the other one, that's for sure.

shindip
July 31st 2010


3536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is quite good, about on par with Neon Bible for me

jingledeath
July 31st 2010


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed

Knott-
Emeritus
July 31st 2010


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

how is the first paragraph a targeted attack on sufjan stevens what the fuck

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 31st 2010


3776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fucking cruise missile to the throat it was

Knott-
Emeritus
July 31st 2010


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hipster taliban

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 31st 2010


3776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rofl

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2010


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the other one

interesting how many arcade fire fans made accounts on the site after mine and tyler's suburbs reviews

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
August 1st 2010


3776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're the Rainmaker, man.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2010


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

read that as rainman twice before i read it correctly. was quite confused lol

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
August 1st 2010


3776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well....

foreverendeared
August 1st 2010


14678 Comments


any favorite of David Bowie is a favorite of mine

AtavanHalen
August 1st 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Right. Well. This is great. Really great.

Needs a few more listens but I'm quite impressed.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
August 1st 2010


7401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really looking forward to hearing this

jingledeath
August 1st 2010


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think I prefer this to Neon Bible now. This has more stand out tracks.

qwe3
August 1st 2010


21369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok i quite like this

Supernewman1
August 1st 2010


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Knott- "how is the first paragraph a targeted attack on sufjan stevens what the fuck"

It's a targeted attack because he brings Sufjan into the article when there is no need or requirement, especially when it is in regards to Funeral and Illinois, and really has nothing to do with The Suburbs. This is clearly targeting Sufjan, I hope you understand. He then goes on to describe something Sufjan has been praised for, then negates it, instead saying that it was The Arcade Fire because "no one cared about Michigan until after the fact" and that apparently regardless to the reviewer "Funeral is a better album than either of Sufjan’s albums anyway." One definition of attack is to criticize or oppose, so that was clearly, by definition, a targeted attack due to the criticism and opposition to the singled out Sufjan.

However what really bothers me is that he made the subjective remarks about a number of albums and an entire musical genre in an objective way. That is a pet peeve of mine, one I have come to expect in reviews but cannot stand if it is unrelated to the subject of the review which is why it stands out so much to me.

Erratic
August 1st 2010


1120 Comments


need money to get this

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2010


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

which, seeing as arcade fire fans mostly suck, is legitimate



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy