Arcade Fire The Suburbs
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Paulsafro
July 28th 2010



7 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

It's sweet of you guys to publish another review so that nobody gets sad and starts to cry. If one of your writers agrees with me, that it's a bit of a turkey, I'd love to read that one as well; because, I'm starting to wonder if my own opinion is still valid.

Knott-
Emeritus
July 28th 2010



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thats my favourite part of the record alex

also shut up paulsafro

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 28th 2010



3762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Knott I think we should just get married no homo

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

SharkEthic
July 28th 2010



577 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really growing on me, fast...it started out a 2.5 on first listen, but by now it's at least a 4

Knott-
Emeritus
July 28th 2010



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

not sure win butler would approve ;(

Paulsafro
July 28th 2010



7 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

There is nothing my wife hates more than being told to shut up, but I guess I had it coming? Still, it's pretty embarrassing for all concerned.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 28th 2010



3762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sooooo embarrassing

H61
July 28th 2010



270 Comments


if you don't really like an album then don't give it a 3.5

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
July 28th 2010



2806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't post this review to soothe anyone's ego. I posted this review because I thought I had an arguable counterpoint to provide to Adam's review. One of the great things about Sputnik as compared to other criticism sites is the ability for anyone to air their opinion on any album, no matter how many reviews have come before it. I don't see why the staff shouldn't have that same privilege.

erm @Paulsafro

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 28th 2010



3762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The lines are cool because he doesn't specify "if I was yours", "if I was scared"... what? It's like a threat almost, but there's unrequited love in there as well, and he just leaves it hanging, and he says it so understated and resigned like "it just ain't ever gonna happen bitch, get over it", so theres this whole unsaid backstory that hangs off the "if". And then after all the denial of "it's not going to happen" he goes "I'm ready to start", like he's shedding an old skin and stepping into a new light and Argh I could go on. And then theres the music.

feastingfool
July 28th 2010



26 Comments


Certainly the best review of this album, if not one of the best reviews I've ever read on this sight. Kudos. This album certainly deserves a good review.

EnderandBean
July 28th 2010



18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Win Butler describes the inspiration behind "Rococo" amongst other things in this largely unedited (in terms of cutting down time) interview.

He considers "Rococo" as criticism with a *wink* *wink* and makes it pretty clear that his tongue was planted firmly in his cheek when he thought of it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4jxTmTzHC7E

Knott-
Emeritus
July 28th 2010



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i think you can read into it that he's sort of contemplating writing this new record and he's saying people are pressuring him into a certain mindset or approach (that of funeral? the uplifting-behind-it-all aesthetic) and he's like, lol, fuck you

actually you can argue that it's the most scathing song on the album if you look at it that way

Dogget
July 28th 2010



781 Comments


I never listened to neon bible because I'm slow on the uptake with this band, should I bother or just jump straight to this?

DoubtGin
July 28th 2010



6748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

definitely bother

Javi450
July 28th 2010



79 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Only good thing from neon bible IMO is Keep The Car Running

ruco
July 28th 2010



4 Comments


what a piece of shit album.

my brother was listening to the great escape today and it made me think how better that is than this bitchy drivel. funny seeing how the great escape isn't really that great anyway.

EnderandBean
July 28th 2010



18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"what a piece of shit album.

my brother was listening to the great escape today and it made me think how better that is than this bitchy drivel. funny seeing how the great escape isn't really that great anyway."

Lol. One click of your name reveals that you just gave a heavy metal record 5 out of 5 stars and the National's High Violet 1 star. Did you ever think this form of music just isn't for you?

Your assessment is the equivalent of a drunken UFC fan walking into Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless mind and yelling, "This movie's fucking gay! Let's watch Fast and Furious!"


Crowe
July 28th 2010



435 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

what a piece of shit album.

Knott-
Emeritus
July 28th 2010



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

high violet a 1?

well, since his opinion is pretty much the opposite of right, this must be good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy