Trivium Ascendancy
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cravinov13
February 19th 2006



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Matt Heafy's vocals on the Roadrunner United track made me want to get this CD, or at least look into it.

JumpTheF**kUp
February 24th 2006



2710 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"I dont agree with your opinion...but will defend to the death your right to say it"
I just thought that sounded good :P
Anyway, I like Trivium and their fast thrashy music, especially songs like Gunshot and Martyr. Btw, what does NWOAHM stand for? Im a little confused.
As for your review it was well written, though i do disagree with you on most points. Its about time we got a review of this album that wasnt completely loving itso that others can see the bad side of it. I think u wrote it well enough so that it wasnt flaming the album unnecessarily, even though you gave it such a low score. I'd have to say this was one of the more easy to read "I hated this album reveiws". Good work.

Tarantino's Tarantulas
February 24th 2006



819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
NWOAHM=New Wave of American Heavy Metal

Tarantino's Tarantulas
February 24th 2006



819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is pretty decent, but I can see why some people dont like it. My favourite tracks are probably Drowned & Torn Asunder and Like Light To The Flies

madmunch
February 24th 2006



89 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Trivium have the potential to be the next metallica, I mean they have awsome riffs and solos I just find the singing's apaulling

Down_with_the_system
February 25th 2006



24 Comments


"Trivium have the potential to be the next metallica, I mean they have awsome riffs and solos I just find the singing's apaulling"

Please dont say that, i cant stand Metallica :/ . I like trivium, the vocals took me a while to get used to, but i love the music and the paces of their songs. Heafy can sing, but people bitch at his "screaming" when it isnt screaming as far as i knew, ive heard it refered to as many other things, but screaming isnt the way to describe the agression he puts into his vocals. If he didnt sing alot of his songs the way he did then they would lack the agression which make the songs so "catchy" to their fans.This Message Edited On 02.25.06

madmunch
February 26th 2006



89 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm sorry if you dont like metallica but its the cold hard truth, besides you'll find that metallica influences almost every metal band today apart from those who existed round the same time/beforehand. And yeh if Maiden wanted them to support them they must see something in them.

radianteclipse
February 26th 2006



397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hmmm...I actually think this band is alright, and the soloes are for the most part incredible. I have nothing against this band, especially considering how talented they are with their ages.

BloodThirstyGuillotine
February 26th 2006



63 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

His screaming is horrid. Other than that, it's ok. Gunshot is a pretty cool song, but the vocals make it just above average.

madmunch
March 4th 2006



89 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I never said I wudnt headbang to them live, just not on their album, If when Maiden plays there Newcastle gig l8r this year Trivium are supporting them I'll listen and headbang away to them just because it'll be a good experience

Drunken Viking
March 5th 2006



1023 Comments


I proably wouldn't headbang to them, maybe at a concert but not when listening to my ipod. I rarely headbang unless I'm at a live show.

Bfhurricane
March 5th 2006



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love headbanging by myself to a ton of the songs on here, except for Dying in Your Arms thats a little too punkish though i like the song

madmunch
March 5th 2006



89 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nothing would stop me getting this album if Id only heard dying in your arms but then I heard a load of others and I just dont see the appeal of screaming

Med57
Moderator
March 5th 2006



1001 Comments


Yeah, this is pretty generic stuff. I basically agree with ShadowsFallen that given the amount of hype that's been surrounding this album, I really expected it to be something else. Even among the bands that get compared to this which have released albums recently, there's much better stuff.

clairvoyant
March 5th 2006



765 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I think this a solid album. Songs like "Drowned and Torn Asunder" and "Like Light to Flies" are quite solid.

Drunken Viking
March 5th 2006



1023 Comments


You don't believe in taking others opinions into perspective, that's horrible.

Storm In A Teacup
March 5th 2006



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I don't remember ever hearing the new single Dying In Your Arms when I listened to the album a couple times, but it's reassured me in my decision to not like this band.

Blokus
March 13th 2006



155 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Fantastic review even though I disagree about most of it. These guys do have a lot of potential, and i think that they really showed it on this album. The only thing I didn' care for(with the exception of 'Dying In Your Arms') is the vocals. Over the years they could be the future of metal.


Drunken Viking
March 13th 2006



1023 Comments


'Tis a sad day in metal when albums like Ascendancy are the future. But if actualy capitolize on the potential they have I think you could be right.

Trivium
March 13th 2006



9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Though I may have a slight bias....

the review was well done, ill give you that, though I dont really agree with it.

I can see where a lot of people are coming from when they bash ascendancy, but all I can say is, Trivium is going to be the band that kills metalcore, and their next album "the crusade" is going to probably be the best metal album since puppets.

Their next album is going to have almost no screaming, and their guitar skills have only gotten better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy