Trivium Ascendancy
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Apathy
October 2nd 2005



645 Comments


Oh no! I liked this album!

Toaster
October 2nd 2005



343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

[quote=shadowsfallen]To say the least, Heafy does not have a good voice. His scream is a high rasp that sounds identical to plenty of other mainstream bands I've been hearing lately. His singing is hardly any better. He can stay on key perfectly, meaning he doesn't need vocals lessons or anything along those lines. The problem is that his voice simply isn't good.[/quote]

If he sings on key, and doesn't need vocal lessons, why isn't he good? I agree when you say his scream is really annoying, but you don't every say why his normal singing voice is bad.

Other than that, I totally agree with this review.

spoon_of_grimbo
October 2nd 2005



2240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

although i dont agree with the comments in this review, i respect that you had the guts to write such a review about an album that so many people are worshipping atm.

personally, i prefer their debut album (ember to inferno).

Shadows
Moderator
October 2nd 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

[QUOTE=toaster135]If he sings on key, and doesn't need vocal lessons, why isn't he good? I agree when you say his scream is really annoying, but you don't every say why his normal singing voice is bad.[/QUOTE]His voice just doesn't have a good sound to me. He can stay on key fine, but I just dislike the sound of his voice. It's kind of hard to explain why, but I don't like it, except for a few places.

I stand by my decision this album is a 1.5. For those of you who missed it, I was trying to be honest about how I felt while emphasizing their strong points. These guys aren't all bad and I didn't see the need to completely flame them.

Soloing obviously can't make an entire album. While there was good soloing and a couple good songs, beyond that all I heard was one song with 9-10 different titles. They recycled riffs and repeated their structures constantly.

horse
October 2nd 2005



2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rofl, you also gave The War Within 4.5 stars. Are you out of your mind?

Jawaharal
October 2nd 2005



1832 Comments


rofl, you also gave The War Within 4.5 stars. Are you out of your mind?


rofl you gave ascendancy a 4.5. Are you out of your mind?This Message Edited On 10.02.05

Shadows
Moderator
October 2nd 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I know not to take anything you review with a grain of salt. Afterall, you gave Are You Dead Yet? 4.5 stars.

rofl, you also gave The War Within 4.5 stars. Are you out of your mind?
Thank you for being so understanding. I'm glad you all know how to respect others' opinions. :rolleyes:

Aakon_Keetreh
October 2nd 2005



448 Comments


awsome review....this cd is awsome, hey shadowsfallen, have u ever heard of the black metal band Carpathian Forest, they sorta sound like cradle of filth,



Shadows
Moderator
October 3rd 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Yes, I know Carpathian Forest. They're not bad. I'v only heard one album, but it was an interesting thrashy black metal fusion that spawned some unique songs.

wikuk
October 5th 2005



1110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nice review but i don't get the grade, saying there are about 4 good tracks and then give a 1.5 which means almost NO good songs, mostly terrible. A bit too harsh.

Leper Affinity
October 5th 2005



89 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Not really. There are two-three songs I can enjoy, I just chose four to recommend because of the number on the album. That leaves 9-10 songs that I really can't stand for reasons I mentioned in the review. That being said, I don't think a 1.5 is harsh at all. NO good songs woild be more like a 0-1.

Me = ShadowsFallen, by the way

This Message Edited On 10.05.05

Iai
Emeritus
October 6th 2005



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

These guys are becoming the metal Coldplay. Far too much hype, and far too much hate.

_unknownST
October 6th 2005



256 Comments


hate around them or they sing about hate too much

Toaster
October 6th 2005



343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tons of people hate them, tons of people rave about them.

I'm Charming
October 6th 2005



332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I personally think they are very good, though there are things they can improve. They have excellent potential. I'm looking forward to seeing them with Children Of Bodom in November.

Leper Affinity
October 6th 2005



89 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Potential is what I was trying to emphasize. I think people are looking at the number of stars I gave it and jumping to comclusions without reading what I had to say. These guys are capable of writing excellent music, but here I felt they only used that talent maybe once or twice, and threw in another 10 reptitive songs.

I'm Charming
October 7th 2005



332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think about half the songs were really good, "rain" "pull harder"
"like light to flies" were excellent. These guys are very young and if they fine tune their music a bit, they will be very good for years to come.

Leper Affinity
October 12th 2005



89 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Roadrunner has bad taste? Or maybe they're willing to take the biggest names regardless of whether or not they actually have talent? There can be all kind of reasons for it, and technical success is never a way to measure talent.

Arrakakaka
October 22nd 2005



685 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

hate around them or they sing about hate too much

Whafuck?!

Anyway, I despise this album. It's so bland, generic, and played out.



Apathy
November 1st 2005



645 Comments


Yeah, I hate the crap out of this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy