Pain of Salvation The Perfect Element, Part 1
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Esky
August 4th 2011


173 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nothing will ever come near Remedy Lane for me. Story seems much more cohesive and there's more variety amongst it.

This and BE are probably a distant second/third - pity their newer stuff hasn't come close.

This is still fantastic though - Morning on Earth, Her Voices, title track and Song for the Innocent are great. Also love the Kingdom of Loss chorus.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2011


6289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nothing will ever come near Remedy Lane for me.





this

Digging: Madred - Supersonic Brainfuck Overdrive

Dreamflight
August 4th 2011


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tittle track alone beats the whole Remedy Lane. :P

My fav POS album, along with BE.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2011


6289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is nowhere near Remedy Lane

Dreamflight
August 4th 2011


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

True, it's way ahead of RL.

However RL it's a great album.

Motiv3
August 23rd 2011


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ashes through to Idioglossia is mindblowing. The reprise of the ashes chorus gets me everytime.

tiesthatbind
October 30th 2011


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The title track is amazing.

Digging: Poets of the Fall - Twilight Theater

Sound
October 30th 2011


3904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wait till you hear Remedy Lane.

tiesthatbind
October 30th 2011


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's the next one I'm gonna check out from these guys.

scissorlocked
October 30th 2011


3511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

slightly better than Remedy lane imo and definitely the best starting point



Digging: Distance - Outer Limits

AsoTamaki
October 30th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah.

This album
Remedy Lane
----
huge gap
----
the rest of their discog

Yazz_Flute
December 3rd 2011


18855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah man if you take out both Road Salts PoS are pretty much the most consistent band ever. I even began to love Scarsick recently.

This is still their greatest, however.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

tiesthatbind
December 3rd 2011


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't stop listening to this lately, this might grow to a 4.5 eventually. The title track and Her Voices are so good.

Yazz_Flute
December 3rd 2011


18855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Her Voices is honestly probably my least favorite track here. At first it seems like the longest songs are the clear standouts (at least it was that way for me a few years ago) but wait till all the softer four-minute tracks grow on you.

Then you will 5.

AsoTamaki
December 3rd 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh, man. I made that post? I would also add Entropia before the gap I spoke of. The other stuff isn't bad. I just mean that those records are that great.

The Road Salt stuff is better than Scarsick, imo.

Yazz_Flute
December 3rd 2011


18855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Some of the lyrics on Scarsick get really preachy and it's like "lol okay Daniel" but it's a really interesting listen, especially with the diversity track to track.

tiesthatbind
December 3rd 2011


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm just usually a sucker for the epics. The instrumental interlude in Her Voices and the symphonic part right after are just fantastic. I dig the shorter ones on here too though. How would you rank this?

Yazz_Flute
December 3rd 2011


18855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Perfect Element
Idioglossia
In the Flesh
Kingdom of Loss
Reconciliation
Ashes
Used
Morning On Earth
Her Voices
Dedication
Song For the Innocent/Falling

Something like that.



tiesthatbind
December 3rd 2011


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Perfect Element
Her Voices
Idioglossia
In the Flesh
King of Loss
Ashes
Used
Morning On Earth
Reconciliation
Dedication

Dunno where I'd put Song for the Innocent/Falling, since I actually love that section but they're more of a prelude to the title track than actual songs.

AsoTamaki
December 3rd 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, Her Voices is great. My ranking would probably be similar to yours. Both you have Morning On Earth too low, however.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy