M.I.A. Maya
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zizzer
July 8th 2010


915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I see

conradtao
Emeritus
July 8th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Edited again.

And personally, I'm happy that there isn't a staff review yet.. it at least directs people here to my review

conradtao
Emeritus
July 9th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And I think Kala is worth a 4.5, definitely. The first seven tracks are maddeningly good.

1MicLight
July 9th 2010


80 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this album

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2010


7026 Comments


well it's interesting

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

conradtao
Emeritus
July 10th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album rating is now the same as her other two.
How predictable.

conradtao
Emeritus
July 12th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/14434-y/

4.4?! What the hell? I like this just as much, if not more, than Kala.

Ghostechoes
July 12th 2010


1353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, those P4k guys have outdone themselves, now they are überhipster.

Satellite
July 12th 2010


20816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I kind of agree with some of the points made in the P4k review, but a fucking 4.4? Fail.

conradtao
Emeritus
July 12th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, they make some valid points. According to Ryan Dombal (or a purpoted Ryan Dombal on 4chan's music board) that rating was essentially just fucking around. The review, after all, reads more like a 6.3 than a 4.4.

Also I feel like they're overcompensating because of that infamous Pitchfork Twitter handover.

Ghostechoes
July 12th 2010


1353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

At times it reads more like a rant against MIA herself, I mean, mentioning that NYTimes piece and the subsequent drama is irrelevant.

conradtao
Emeritus
July 12th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think they're slightly butthurt that their credibility went down a bit because of her.

ErgoNomNoms
July 12th 2010


3 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off


Recommended by reviewer
Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavillion
Bjork Homogenic
Panda Bear Person Pitch


I lol'd.

conradtao
Emeritus
July 12th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

>implying anyone looks at those

Bitchfork
July 13th 2010


7584 Comments


She hasn’t exactly handled the media exposure well, what with her increasingly incoherent interviews, her Gaga-bashing, her Bieber-trashing, and her (admittedly inexcusable) tweeting Lynn Hirschberg’s cell phone number after Hirschberg wrote a none-too-flattering profile piece for the New York Times Magazine.



I love her persona. The things she does are hilarious, and it has to count for something in this world of large words and pretense, yes?

conradtao
Emeritus
July 13th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It takes away from her music, which I think is the most interesting thing about her.

Btw, your review is great.

Bitchfork
July 13th 2010


7584 Comments


fank you.
but while her music is obv. most important. her childish banter is hilarious and intriguing. we only care because we care.

dylantheairplane
July 13th 2010


2170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Everyone needs to get the deluxe edition of this. It is worth the extra money

G3N3R1C
July 13th 2010


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is it weird that i like this, but cannot stand Sleigh Bells? (Or M.I.A.'s other 2 albums, for that matter?)

conradtao
Emeritus
July 13th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no, it's not weird. it's completely different from Arular and Kala.
(although if you like Meds and Feds you should at least dig "A/B Machines" from Sleigh Bells' LP)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy