Eminem Recovery
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ShadowRemains
June 18th 2010


21058 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i will review this when I can...

Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions

Counterfeit
June 18th 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like that idea

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
June 18th 2010


3772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can see exactly where the Pitchfork review is coming from too, I'd even agree with it if I didn't y'know, enjoy this.

Digging: The Flaming Lips - With A Little Help From My Fwends

Satellite
June 18th 2010


20826 Comments


Yeah, I thought the same thing. I hate when I agree with overtly negative reviews of albums I like.

Satellite
June 18th 2010


20826 Comments


(@ streetlight)

Blakout
June 18th 2010


48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah 25 to Life is pretty obviously about hip-hop, he says it outright at the end of the song. Still a good review though.

Also the chorus of You're Never Over is so bad. Eminem's singing is worse than that girl from iwrestledabearonce.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2010


28655 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

also rihanna slays on this album


wow this review is so bad.

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2010


28655 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wow unintentional chambered i did that from the front page

Counterfeit
June 18th 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What theacad said, her and Pink are great in this. Don't mind Kobe or the Sabbath sample either.

Blakout
June 18th 2010


48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like the Rihanna song but I feel like it's gonna get overplayed as fuck when it's inevitably released as a single.

Alienbeing
June 18th 2010


1 Comments


My 2nd favorite Em CD after the Marshall Mathers CD.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2010


28655 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yea that kobe part is ill too... also why the fucking backlash for using p!nk and rihanna? since when are they the backstreet boys or christina aguilera? stan featured fucking Dido. pink's career started as the anti-britney spears, and rihanna has been a staple in the rap world since she came up....

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2010


28655 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

srsly sixer thats a bulldog argument u better check yourself.

ShadowRemains
June 18th 2010


21058 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yea that kobe part is ill too... also why the fucking backlash for using p!nk and rihanna? since when are they the backstreet
boys or christina aguilera? stan featured fucking Dido. pink's career started as the anti-britney spears, and rihanna has been a
staple in the rap world since she came up....


12fuckin3

I would've liked to see Dre here though...


Dre
June 18th 2010


297 Comments


I produced the record

Counterfeit
June 18th 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed wif both posts above me. A Dre track would have been sick. I wanna say something similar to Guilty Conscience, but I also wanna say something more original. And hear when the fuck Detox is coming out.

Masochist
June 18th 2010


8051 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm glad you wrote this review. Not only was it VERY well-written, but maybe it'll help quell the inexplicable rating of this album. I don't get the '4'; the only thing here that returns Eminem to his previous standards are the verses he spits. Everything else (beats, chorus, song structure) are sub-par.

To tell the truth, I think the rating is more in response to Eminem's return to form than the actual album itself. Truth be told, I never thought he lost his talent, he just hasn't had anything to focus it on for the past two albums. He couldn't possibly make another album proclaiming he hated Kim, or sing another song about his mother, and pretending that he was separate from pop music, and that he could still understand what life was like from the perspective of the 15-year-old Ritalin addict who blares him from his trailer home every day; he had to do something different, and those experiments failed him. The reason for the return to form on this album, I think, is because he finally once again has something to focus his contempt on: himself. The joke he became, the insurmountable persona he built up, etc. THAT'S where the fervor comes from, and that's why he begs for forgiveness, as you said in your review.

But despite having something to inflict his hate-mongering lyrical prowess upon, the album itself isn't as good as 'The Eminem Show'...at least, not yet. In my opinion, as of right now, it's no higher than a 3.5, which is generous.

But enough of my ramblings. Excellent review, sir; you brought up some very thoughtful points.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

ShadowRemains
June 18th 2010


21058 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I produced the record


that is true, Andre

Masochist
June 18th 2010


8051 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

go listen to converge

AtavanHalen
June 18th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I enjoyed reading this but I definitely disagree on several points. And 25 to Life definitely isn't about Kim. The first few verses document the demise of the relationship, but it's when he says "fuck you, hip-hop" it's when the lyrics twist the meaning.

Can anyone tell me more about Kobe? He sounds amazing. As does the chorus of Almost Famous - I swear that's Katy Perry.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy