Dream Theater Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
tiesthatbind
June 6th 2010



7373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

(bows)

Nagrarok
June 6th 2010



8194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Glass Prison is awesome.

megadeth101
June 6th 2010



865 Comments


lul dream theater

peartnoy
June 6th 2010



1170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not your best review for Dream Theater but good nonetheless. My favorite is Awake, you really did a great job on that one.

I can't decide which album i prefer most. Images and Words, Awake, sfam, six degrees, train of thought, and bc&sl are all my favorites.

jybt
June 6th 2010



342 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice review...a 96-minute album is bound to not have everything on it catch on with everyone. There are some things I, of course, disagree with given my rating.

Misunderstood is about that very condition. Nobody understands this main character, so an effective "wall" is built between him and the people he meets - like Pink Floyd's wall. The dissonant outro is this wall being built. Okay, that was a bit simpler...

Disappear doesn't use any samples and deals with a different subject for sure - after all, LaBrie wrote the lyrics and could never try to be Kevin Moore. Its horrible empty feeling is apparent from the very beginning, while Space-Dye Vest is a gradual slide into oblivion.

The way that this mood is created is also different: Space-Dye Vest is burnt-out, almost a black hole of emotion. The listener knows the character is empty because they can't feel anything. Disappear involves the listener more directly: they feel the emptiness and despair associated with losing a life partner.


Goodnight Kiss will obviously be cheesy to many listeners. However, the character is suffering from post-partum stress disorder and we don't know what's happened to her baby...obviously, you can't expect her to be very sane.

No composition is truly trying to copy any other. Go back and listen to the two songs back-to-back, paying attention to the structure and the overall development of the pieces, and see if I change your opinion. I may not like all the thematic elements of music I listen to (ie: Kekal), but I still appreciate their contribution to the overall whole.

tiesthatbind
June 6th 2010



7373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, I'm not saying that it's copying everything from it, but the keyboard line does sound almost exactly the same. And I think Disappear is dull, you may be right about its meaning but I still don't think it's a good song.

It's opinions in the end, though, I appreciate your comment on the review, obviously, if you enjoy this that much, good for you, there are plenty that would agree with you.

jybt
June 6th 2010



342 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I enjoy Six Degrees because of its incredibly deep thought behind the overall concept. A huge amount of effort was put into this album, but that alone doesn't make a classic. Some other reviewers have illustrated how 9/11 had a profound effect on the mood of the music.

Each degree - alcoholism and/or insanity, death, moral conflict, alienation, mental illness and doubting one's religion - is a factor that can separate humans from each other or from God. If you spoke to devout atheists, you'd often find those who lost faith because they were in doubt about it, disagreed with moral teachings, could not believe that a God exists because they either had no evidence and/or were betrayed by religion, or they could not believe that God would let their loved one die.

Such "degrees" of inner turbulence are also the causes behind religious extremism as a whole (see Iced Earth - Night of the Stormrider), which is what led to 9/11 - and the root of human evil itself. The theme of Six Degrees as an album is pretty much contained in the Grand Finale: understand the people who are lost in this way and help them, and you WILL build a better world. This is probably the reasoning behind the 100-second final chord: you, as the listener, have to fill in the ending yourself. Think about that next time you listen - it's truly quite a brilliant, unique concept.

PS: DT fans will like what I dig. I don't see this band in your ratings...

tiesthatbind
June 6th 2010



7373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm fairly new to prog. I'm more of a hard rock guy, but Dream Theater has been a recent dig, and I thought it would be interesting to take on reviewing their discography. I'll look into that band though, thanks for the rec.

FadeToBlack
June 6th 2010



10914 Comments


this is amazing, the second disc is so emotional and well put together









o wait its Dream Theater 2.5

tiesthatbind
June 6th 2010



7373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't worry, Fade, Train of Thought is next.

FadeToBlack
June 6th 2010



10914 Comments


that and Awake are the only ones i kind of like

still dont listen to them anymore though

KILL
June 6th 2010



71454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

metropolis part 2 ftw

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

tiesthatbind
June 6th 2010



7373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You'll just have to suffer through seeing Dream Theater on the front page a few more times, then it'll all be over ;)

Parallels
June 6th 2010



6641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whoa almost missed this. i gotta take more breaks from my game im making and get on sputnik more.
i find the glass prison and SDOIT Finale to be the best from this album
that finale gives me shivers

great review as usual ties, pos'd
[img]http://closedstacks.files.wordpress.com/2009/01/thumbs-up.jpg[/img]

megadeth101
June 6th 2010



865 Comments


this is amazing, the second disc is so emotional and well put together









o wait its Dream Theater 2.5


i lold

Disconnected
June 7th 2010



485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a pretty good album. Not the best they've done, but certainly not the worst.

ChaosTheory
June 9th 2010



102 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Excellent review as usual.

Lakes.
June 15th 2010



26833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

negged. sorry bro

Digging: BABYMETAL - Babymetal

qwe3
June 15th 2010



21355 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i actually kinda like the glass prison from this

tiesthatbind
June 15th 2010



7373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

negged. sorry bro

Noooooooo...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy