Gorguts The Erosion of Sanity
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
July 16th 2014


37489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah.

Digging: Seizures - The Sanity Universal

Fozzie
July 18th 2014


412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

While Considered Dead leaned toward Florida for inspiration, this album takes it from New York. The influence from Suffocation's 'Effigy of the Forgotten' and Immolation's 'Dawn of Possession' can be heard on this record.



The Erosion of Sanity is a big step-up from Considered Dead in all departments. The production is better, the songwriting has improved, and there is more technicality - save the wanking.



Top notch musicianship on this release with skullcrushing riffage, dark melodies, and unconventional song structures. Stephane Provencher's drumming is varied with strong double kick, excellent fills, and great use of

the cymbals. The audible, twangy bass playing of Eric Giguere plays a crucial role to the albums atmosphere. He does everything but plunk away on root notes. Just listen to the unsettling bass interlude on A Path Beyond Premonition.



Luc Lemay's agonized sounding vocals are just as good on this record, being intelligible and still brutal to compliment the music. The low drawn out growls and raspy parts are reminiscent of Chuck Schuldiner circa Leprosy era. This would be the last album where he employed this vocal style.



Back to the production, it's pretty much perfect. It's thick, heavy, brutal, but no details are missed. All the instruments come through clear. On a side note, Suffocation's 'Breeding the Spawn' would slay if it had this production. Too bad...



There are really no faults with this record, though Gorguts still hadn't developed their own style. The next record would be a curveball.



Top tracks are Condemned To Obscurity with the very fitting and atmospheric piano intro, Orphans Of Sickness, and A Path Beyond Premonition.

Hawks
July 18th 2014


37489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's such things as soundoffs my friend.

evilford
July 18th 2014


26043 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

fuck a soundoff, that's a review lol

Digging: Death - Symbolic

BigPleb
July 18th 2014


41268 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol Fozzie.

MO
July 18th 2014


19629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well he's saying all good things so

evilford
July 18th 2014


26043 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't care I just think it's funny

MO
July 18th 2014


19629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you jam the new Opeth yet ford?

evilford
July 18th 2014


26043 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

haven't but I heard it leaked. any good?



honestly haven't even heard heritage...

BigPleb
July 18th 2014


41268 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Its a 4.5 dude, MO has it 4'd (confirmed its good) so check it!

evilford
July 18th 2014


26043 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

alright I'll check it

Tyrael
July 18th 2014


20989 Comments


better than heritage

Hawks
July 18th 2014


37489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Way better.

evilford
July 25th 2014


26043 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

time again

BigPleb
July 30th 2014


41268 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

IIIIN THE GLOOOOOMY VAAAAAAAAAAAAAUUULLLTTT

evilford
July 30th 2014


26043 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

of nothingness

BigPleb
July 30th 2014


41268 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

MY IMAAAAGINAAATIOOOOOOOOOOOOOONNN

evilford
July 30th 2014


26043 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

gives me daydreams of that hot tatted chick in the call center

BigPleb
July 30th 2014


41268 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ey up, fordy is getting all aroused.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
July 30th 2014


16708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

h-hnnng



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy