Nevermore The Obsidian Conspiracy
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ShowStopper0328
June 5th 2010


28 Comments


RICE, RICE, RICE!

Scoot
June 5th 2010


17771 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They were away for too long.

TzarChasm
June 6th 2010


150 Comments


Oh, it hurts to read reviews like this. I spent so long fantasizing about how Nevermore would follow the stellar Godless Endeavor with the album of a lifetime... and now I'm afraid to even sample their latest. This is not they only review I've read which has mourned this release, rather than celebrated it.

This is beginning to sound like one of the year's biggest disappointments, along with the new Borknagar. Dammit.

DavidBlair
June 6th 2010


2 Comments


I love Nevermore. I couldn't call them very original, but I'd be lying if I said that they didn't completely kick ass on their faster paced tracks. The excellent riffs, pounding rhythms, the aggressive yet melodic howling , and the orgasmic guitar solos made them stand far apart from the pack.

The thought that theyv'e dumbed down their best components is saddening. I haven't listened to this album yet. After reading this review I'm guessing it's not worth my time. They way you describe it is as if Darell gone diva.

cirq
June 6th 2010


9264 Comments


album cover is bad.

ShadowRemains
June 6th 2010


20846 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

they've done so much better...

XulOnerom
June 6th 2010


1818 Comments


I've been planning on checking this band out, but as I can see this is not the place to start

Shredzilla
June 6th 2010


501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love Nevermore to death, but this disappointed me immensely. The solo's don't really stick and everything just seems so.....bland. I don't know. It's a good album, but that's about it. I hope hope we fans don't have to wait another 4 or 5 years for another lackluster release on the level of this.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2010


6147 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Nevermore IS EVERYTHING ELSE BUT traditional metal.

How do you figure?


well i don't really know how to respond to this but i will try...

i will say this: With Politics of Ecstacy and the records that followed (minus the half of Dead Heart in a Dead World - I worship Nevermore and In Memory but those two are the albums Sanctuary didn't get to record) i said "FINALLY a band that can be beyond all metal genres, taking elements from all of them plus". If this description sounds like the traditional metal approach back in 1997 and in the 00's (leave out the outburst of metalcore and post rock/metal), then i say no more.-



Willie your review screams AVERAGE for the new Nevermore record, everytime i read it. And average means a 2.5 but your rating is a 3.

I want this to be a 3 too, but i can't find any reason whatsoever.

And i listened to the record 15-20 times. God knows i wanted to toss this away from the 5th listening session...

This record is the product of a band which is either lazy (not likely) or burn out (i second that).


There is no sense of urgency in the riffs.

Willie, I think that Nevermore never really pushed their sound,They just tried different angles of it.


I couldn't agree more.

Digging: Raven Throne - ???????? ?????????

scissorlocked
June 6th 2010


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

To be honest,I'm totally bored with The Obsidian Conspiracy,at this point.

Let's put our hope to the new Sanctuary record.And I'm really curious of how Warrel will sing in it.

Willie
Moderator
June 6th 2010


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

i said "FINALLY a band that can be beyond all metal genres, taking elements from all of them plus". If this description sounds like the traditional metal approach back in 1997 and in the 00's (leave out the outburst of metalcore and post rock/metal), then i say no more.-
We're talking about two different things. You're talking about the traditional metal approach -- a linear approach that doesn't allow for outside influences. When I refer to traditional metal, I'm referring more to a genre that would include bands such as Painkiller-era Judas Priest or Iced Earth. I'm saying that Nevermore's style is more in line with those bands on this album, and even in the past they had influences from those bands.
Willie your review screams AVERAGE for the new Nevermore record, everytime i read it. And average means a 2.5 but your rating is a 3.

Here it is, my noob TBT:
- The Termination Proclamation: Underwhelming, especially for an opening track (2.5)
- Your Poison Throne: The "Rise, Rise, Rise" makes this song pretty bad (2.0)
- Moonrise (Through Mirrors Of Death): This is a really good song. Would have fit on DHIADW. (3.0)
- And The Maiden Spoke: Music is awesome, vocals are good. It steps back for the chorus, but it's still awesome. (3.5)
- Emptiness Unobstructed: Very melodic and I've never really liked their ballads, but this is better than the other ones. (3.0)
- The Blue Marble And The New Soul: Another ballad. Would have worked better if it came after a more aggressive song. Kills what little pace the album has. On the other hand, the lyrics are cool and the song is good on its own, just should have been placed somewhere else on the album. (3.0)
- Without Morals: The best song on the album. Great music, great vocals and the chorus actually works. (4.0)
- The Day You Built The Wall: Easily the worst song they've ever written. (1.5)
- She Comes In Colors: Another damn ballad that moves into something slightly heavy. The flow of the album is pretty much permanently destroyed by this point. On its own this song is ok. (2.5)
- The Obsidian Conspiracy: I wish this song was longer because it's the kind of song everyone expects from the band. (4.0)

Overall a lot of the songs work on their own, but as a unit they fail to keep the energy level of the album.


Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

lostforwords
June 6th 2010


446 Comments


As for the trad metal debate, I think that when they first started, their sound was refreshing (with all the thrash/death influenced power metal, or the groovier, 7-string guitar sound of DHIADW) but now, given that they haven't really evolved since then, it seems fair to tag them trad-metal. After all their sound has indeed a lot in common with Iced Earth or Judas Priest

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2010


6147 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

As for the resemblance, I agree with you Trey for THIS album, the Dead Heart in a Dead World album and the Nevermore album, which has material that wasn't issued under the Sanctuary label though.

However, looking their back catalogue in general they rarely resemble to both Pain Killer-era Judas Priest or Iced Earth.

I mean, there are even death/black metal riffs on Enemies of Reality for example.

As for the rating, you are more than convincing but sometimes deviations do occur when putting the numbers in writing, don't they?

lol

Willie
Moderator
June 6th 2010


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I think for the other albums you're looking too far into it. I think they still have moments that are similar to Painkiller-era Judas Priest (or similar bands), just as they don't really resemble Cannibal Corpse or Morbid Angel but they'll occasionally have a section that could fit that mold.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2010


6147 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Nevermore were always proggier than both the aforementioned bands, except for the aforementioned records.

Anyway, it doesn't really matter from a point further i assume :-?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2010


8368 Comments


Very nice review Trey. The sampler for this, featured in one of your blog posts, was god-awful imo, so I will most definitely stay away.

scissorlocked
June 6th 2010


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

enough with Nevermore,lets talk about Mundial

playguitar
June 6th 2010


36 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So, so dissapointed with this one. Your Poison Throne and The Day You Built the Wall make me cringe so much.

OllieS
June 6th 2010


2031 Comments


Awesome review.

Bow2LeperMessiah
June 6th 2010


224 Comments


Im ashamed to learn that this suxxx...was lookiin' forward to this. May decide if this is bad for myself. Will check out.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy