Mercyful Fate Melissa
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gwyn.
May 6th 2014


15391 Comments


Sounds evil

dannyboy89
May 6th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Some of the tightest songwriting on an album ever.

Need to jam it hard this week so I can 5 it.

dannyboy89
May 6th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Busy with Motorhead atm.

dannyboy89
May 6th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Hmm. They prob take a bit more effort to get into than Priest or Maiden, but Overkill is a pretty sweet album.

I'm finishing it atm.

manosg
May 7th 2014


6973 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Overkill rules hard agreed. One of the best '70s albums and Motorhead released Bomber in the same year!

Digging: Chapel - Satan's Rock 'N' Roll

dannyboy89
May 7th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Took me long enough to 5 this, but it had to be done.

With no disrespect to MoR or SWoD, this is the epitome of a perfect metal album.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
May 7th 2014


6651 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Agreed this rules hard but I've always felt that Don't Break the Oath is better. Not many people seem to agree

dannyboy89
May 7th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

The case can be made for either. I might 5 DBtO in time, but that might take a while.

In any case, 80's Fate proved how far metal could go. Songwriting has rarely been so tight in metal.

dannyboy89
May 7th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Surely other bands besides Maiden and Priest influenced these guys. Prob Diamond Head, maybe the Sex Pistols. I get an old-school rock n' roll vibe on this album, kinda what I'd hear perhaps with early Aerosmith, Thin Lizzy, or other such bands.

Sabbath is an obvious influence ofc, they influenced like every single metal band, directly or indirectly.

dannyboy89
May 8th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

1:52 in demon bell literally the best riff ever in metal [49]


Gwyn.
May 8th 2014


15391 Comments


headphones :D

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014


6651 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"In any case, 80's Fate proved how far metal could go. Songwriting has rarely been so tight in metal."

Damn right. Even some of Mercyful's Fate's non-80s material is really solid, too. That's the reason why I reviewed the band's entire discography last year.

Killerhit
May 8th 2014


5495 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the deh-mun

BELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

dannyboy89
May 8th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

There's a part in a song on here where Diamond goes "aaaaAAAAaaaahhhHHHHhhh" which reminds me of a Deep Purple song where the keyboards go "dannnnn, dadadannnn dadadannnnn".

manosg must've noticed, since he's a fan of both bands.

MeatSalad
May 8th 2014


15288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's a part in a song on here where Diamond goes "aaaaAAAAaaaahhhHHHHhhh"


so like every song

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014


6651 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

aaaaAAAAaaaahhhHHHHhhh

COME COME INTO MY COVEN!

aaaaAAAAaaaahhhHHHHhhh

AND BECOME LUCIFER'S CHILD!

dannyboy89
May 8th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

But yeah, there are some Deep Purple elements on here for sure.

I reckon it's time I jam some Thin Lizzy and early Areosmith more, might help explain some of the weird details in metal that Priest and Maiden can't.

demigod!
May 8th 2014


45490 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah thin lizzy definitely had an influence on NWOBHM, especially with dem leads

can hear it all over here, early Maiden and late 70's Priest.

Digging: The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds

dannyboy89
May 8th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, some moments on here feel like tributes to old-school 70's hard rock.

As far as riffs of truth are concerned, this album delivers 'em in spades.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014


6651 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Absolutely. "Satan's Fall" alone has more amazing riffs than some metal bands will ever produce in their entire career.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy