Joanna Newsom The Milk-Eyed Mender
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
klap
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2010



10257 Comments


OPINIONS

Digging: The Bilinda Butchers - Heaven

porch
May 23rd 2010



8450 Comments


^Exactly. MJ i don't even know why you bother responding to all this bullshit

AtavanHalen
May 23rd 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this

Well I don't

That's your opinion

Well, fuck, if that's the way it's going to be we may as well shut down the fucking site.

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2010



10257 Comments


that's how it is lol

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2010



14986 Comments


I'm tired of this notion that I can't enjoy any review with a rating I disagree with, though. That's absolute bullshit.


ya but youre making it pretty obvious that the reason you dont like this review is because you have something against MJ or because you disagree with the review or both

AtavanHalen
May 23rd 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Both those are factors, but I honestly didn't enjoy reading the review. I don't like reading reviews with a smug sense of self-superiority.

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2010



10257 Comments


obviously jordan is pretentious as fuck that's his thing

porch
May 23rd 2010



8450 Comments


The problem is that you're taking him too seriously.

Did you know that he isn't actually Michael Jordan? I was also surprised when i found this out. I'm also pretty sure that he doesn't actually harbor any aspirations of becoming the "Emperor of Sputnik"

if you disagree with a review, say why, but try not to come across as a rabid fanboy that wants the reviewer to die because of it, because that's how you've reacted to this.




robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2010



14986 Comments


saying a review is bad because of opinions is dumb

but obviously you're not that dumb--even if that's what you think you'd still back it up as if it wasn't

but all you've done so far is use popular dropwords (i just made that word up, yes) like 'pretentious' and 'smug' sooo yeah

MJ: do you really hate the song 'this side of the blue'----

AtavanHalen
May 23rd 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mostly hipster? Do you listen to yourself?

Enotron
May 23rd 2010



7695 Comments


I love Joanna Newsom, but she's highly regarded in hipster culture. She's cool to like.

And again, quit taking him seriously. He's a dick, but he's a fun dick(oh god, that sounded awful).

AtavanHalen
May 24th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The demographic of people who enjoy this is huge. Especially here in Australia - Sprout and the Bean was featured in a tourism ad for the city of Melbourne and a lot of the major music critics here love her.

Also, Kattun was a batshit crack addict. That review makes no sense whatsoever.

AtavanHalen
May 24th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was that a serious question?

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2010



17196 Comments


Mournful Congregation and Portal came from aussieland. That's about all I know though...

AtavanHalen
May 24th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who cares about composers? It's not the ninteenth century anymore. We've got a pretty good classical pianist in David Helfgott if that shit gives you a boner, though.

yetanotherprofile
May 24th 2010



180 Comments


Never heard of this "artist" and I wont bother now. Thanks for the heads up! Your last sentence is excellent and relevant to most of whats going on in the UK at the moment sadly.

INXS are okay, Silverchair are good. AC/DC are very basic, but also good. Australia is lagging in good bands, and artists in general.

taylormemer
May 24th 2010



4913 Comments


Such as...

Foxhound
May 24th 2010



4570 Comments


Not even close bro

Felix Melsshohn
Franz Listz
Johannes Brahms
Beethoven
Gioacchino Rossini

now that's where it's at.

Foxhound
May 24th 2010



4570 Comments


eh, to each his own.

Yotimi
May 24th 2010



6441 Comments


Not terrible, you focus way too much on the vocals though. You can analyze, scrutinize, and form as much of a substantiated opinion on them as you like, but vocals will still be a subjective aspect of music. There is no art or songwriting to the timbre of your voice, so you either like them or you don't (on occasion you can use vocals creatively, yes, but that wasn't part of your argument). Also, how can you argue the harp is a gimmick? Just b/c most people don't play a harp, doesn't make one that does a gimmick. Maybe she just likes the harp.

I actually am not a fan at all of Newsom, I just don't think those are valid arguments.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy