Marina and The Diamonds The Family Jewels
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
jrowa001
May 21st 2010


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome album. review does it justice

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2010


7333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not my thing at all but I actually want this, Hollywood is so good. Nice review as ever.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
May 21st 2010


3767 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Didn't expect this review. Fuckin' cool.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Skimaskcheck
May 21st 2010


2360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty sweet album, sometimes her voice irrates me though. at least it's unique!

yetanotherprofile
May 21st 2010


180 Comments


Pants.

UnfunFionn
May 21st 2010


54 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is really good.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
May 21st 2010


3767 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Man, I saw hype for this everywhere and I figured it was a solo album by Marina from Bonde do Role. Different Marina. Was confused.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"awesome album. review does it justice" Thanks Jeff. Thought you would like this a fair bit.

"Not my thing at all but I actually want this, Hollywood is so good. Nice review as ever." Thanks Ali. 'Hollywood' is my #2 song of the year so far.

"Man, I saw hype for this everywhere and I figured it was a solo album by Marina from Bonde do Role. Different Marina. Was confused." Hehe. Poor Alex. Marina is a pretty popular name, you know.

"pretty sweet album, sometimes her voice irrates me though. at least it's unique!" Well put. Her voice is definitely not going to be for everyone when she over-enunciates. I recommend the Paloma Faith album if you like this.

"This is really good." Agreed.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2010


31153 Comments


Man, I saw hype for this everywhere and I figured it was a solo album by Marina from Bonde do Role

Now that would've been good

Digging: Banks - Goddess

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
May 21st 2010


3767 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I know right?

Album's quirky.

Also, is it me, or is there a really strong hint of Amanda Palmer in here? Especially on Obsessions.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, I didn't expect a 4 from you Alex.

And yes, there is definitely some Amanda Palmer here; hence why I mentioned her in the first paragraph of the review.

Kiran
Emeritus
May 22nd 2010


6001 Comments


i haven't heard the original or anything else on here but theyve been playing an awesome remix of hollywood at clubs here and its tempting me to check this out, mainly because of how great her voice sounds

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
May 22nd 2010


3767 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hah, I didn't expect a 4 from me either. Maybe it's a little early, but I've been spinning this the whole day and it's still cool so.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, give it a listen Kiran. 'Hollywood' is so f'n catchy. To me, her voice is great, but she does over-enunciate at times & that will annoy many. I sometimes find that people will get annoyed with her voice on 1 song & then not move on though. Just press "skip".

AtavanHalen
May 22nd 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

What the fuck, everything about her voice is amazing

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't disagree DavID... Just putting myself in other people's shoes... You should try it one day. ;-)

Alex, if you really like this, give Paloma Faith a go as well. Not too dissimilar.

AtavanHalen
May 22nd 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I have big feet, I don't fit in other people's shoes

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Umm, I wear size 14's buddy... Plenty of room.

AtavanHalen
May 22nd 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

They make stilettos in that size now?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That would not be a great sight to behold.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy