Dio Holy Diver
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Fozzie
November 20th 2013



328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The best album by the greatest heavy metal vocalist DIO!

Top tier well balanced metal. Excellent musicianship, melody, and powerful vocals with 0 filler.

The production on this album is superb; crystal clear. The bass really gets to shine and Vinny's drums sound so crisp on this record. Vivian's riffing slays and his leads compliment all the songs very well.

Caught In The Middle and Don't Talk To Strangers are two of the best mid pace songs off this album. The latter is a Dio classic which starts off mellow with guitar and vocals but it's just building up to something better. The drums and bass soon follow, Dio belts it out, and a thundering riff follows. The leads on this song are awesome.

Invisible is one of the underrated tracks on the record with a great melodic intro. Good harmonizing, vocals, and catchy chorus.

Rainbow in the Dark is no doubt Dio's most well known track thanks to the catchy keyboard melody. The best thing about this song is the guitar solo.

Album closes out with the darker track Shame On The Night. Very good vocals, thumping bass, and drum work by Vinny. A great way to finish one of the best metal albums.



FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2013



9686 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

lol

Chortles
November 20th 2013



17908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I always enjoy a nice tbt

Digging: Yo La Tengo - Electr-O-Pura

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2013



9686 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, in the fucking comments section

zakalwe
November 24th 2013



6612 Comments


Real deal m/

Digging: Bob Mould - Beauty & Ruin

Cygnatti
November 24th 2013



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

amazing album

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

manosg
November 25th 2013



5729 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Everything about it is classic.

NightProwler
November 25th 2013



6335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Amazing, yeah. One of metal's best

Digging: Neil Young - American Stars 'N Bars

Cygnatti
December 7th 2013



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the jams don't stahp omfg

Cygnatti
December 7th 2013



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

~don't smell the flowers
they're an evil drug
to make you lose your mind~


rockandmetaljunkie
December 7th 2013



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

...don't dream of women cause they always bring you dowwwwwnnn

damn, I will never learn....

tempest--
December 7th 2013



12620 Comments


wowow a 4 from cyg crazy shit

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
December 7th 2013



9686 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I really like Dio's vocals on this album

manosg
December 8th 2013



5729 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"damn, I will never learn...."

That's life dude. Listen to some blues and you'll be alright.

rockandmetaljunkie
December 8th 2013



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Right on Manos

Cygnatti
December 10th 2013



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey you!
you know me!
you've touched me!
I'm real!

MoosechriS
December 25th 2013



4796 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

don't go to heaven
cause it's really only hell
don't smell the flowers
they're an evil drug
to make you lose your mind
don't dream of women
cause they always bring you.....



MoosechriS
December 25th 2013



4796 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

DDDDDDDDDDDOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

cinaedus
January 2nd 2014



26298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YOU'LL BE RIIIIIDIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNN
YOU'LL BE RIDIN ON THE GYPSAYYYYYYYY
ON THE GYPSY QUEEN!

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

manosg
January 25th 2014



5729 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nothing better that some Dio when you're feeling down.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy