Nas & Damian Marley Distant Relatives
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AggravatedYeti
May 18th 2010


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cannot wait for this record, ordered and now waiting
*waits*


cfbassist
May 18th 2010


330 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so this is a REALLY good record, like, possible 5 for me

joesmoe4000
May 19th 2010


370 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

on first listen i thought this was only good at best but now, after a couple more spins this is growing on me. like a seed turning into a tree and i'm sure this in time will be considered a classic. this mixes like milk and chocolate not oil and water. nas & damian complement each other perfectly to the african instrumentation. staying completely true to the concept of africa's problems from poverty,the diamond trade,racism & civil war and all things that are plaguing the beautiful land. it also promotes a sense of unity that two talented musicians came together for a great cause of awareness they are artist from different genres and countries conveying the beautiful & powerful message of world unity and true to the cause of this album a portion of the proceeds of this album will be used to build a school in africa. do yourself a favor and check this out asap!






dub sean
May 19th 2010


980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was thinking about reviewing this, cause even though this review is favorable I have somewhat of a 'dissenting' opinion. haha, we will see.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
May 19th 2010


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

great review man

astrel
May 19th 2010


2614 Comments


nas has consistently been at least a decent rapper. it's the production that usually kills it for him.

Psilocyanide
May 19th 2010


1823 Comments


I blew this off at first, but I'm excited to hear this now.

Psilocyanide
May 19th 2010


1823 Comments


Yeah this destroyed my original expectations.

joesmoe4000
May 19th 2010


370 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"everyone deserve to earn and every child deserve to learn, each and everyone deserve a turn like a flame deserve to burn" whoa! that's deep rating went from great to excellent to classic and i stand by it just within three days this is a album the more you listen to it the more you appreciate and understand it. nas goes too fu*king hard at the end of "strong will continue" but in general throughout the whole album and damian always has deep conscious lyrics i haven't enjoyed new music of any genre in a really really long time as much as this and i'm not a big fan of reggae except for bob and the wailers! p.s. who else thinks it's bullsh*t that staff reviews override user reviews imo dub sean's review was a lot better

DiceMan
May 20th 2010


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like speak Engrish. Do joo?

This is actually really awesome, but you should probably wait at least a week before you decide that an album is going to be one of your favorites for the rest of your life.. Doncha think?

Trez
May 20th 2010


90 Comments


Seen this was out the other day and was curious. Nice to see a review here. Will have to add it to the list...

joesmoe4000
May 20th 2010


370 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'm quoting damian word for word on the chorus of "tribes at war" and with a classic album you know it's a classic to you after just a couple of spins for me it gave me the same joy that sticky fingers,temple of the dog & goodie mob's still standing gave me!

telebyrd
May 20th 2010


869 Comments


Best Collaborative Album of 2010

joesmoe4000
May 20th 2010


370 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is off subject but somebody please do a review for the goodie mob albums!

MutnikSpusic
May 20th 2010


560 Comments


dio was so much better as a rappa >

mmfarva
May 20th 2010


1352 Comments


Intrigued, I'm going to check this out.

joesmoe4000
May 20th 2010


370 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

in all seriousness i think matisyahu should have been on this album being a reggae/hip hop influenced artist himself. nas played a major role in shaping him as a artist. it would have been awesome to see him on at least one of the tracks i know he would've added something special to this album. to see nas,damian,k'naan & matisyahu on a track would be beyond epic!

joesmoe4000
May 20th 2010


370 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lyrics found here: http://www.distantrelatives.com/lyrics/all/distant_relatives-1#1

nas:"We tryin' to build some schools in Africa with this one, and trying to build empowerment. We're tryin' to show love and stuff with this album. So, the record's … all about really the 'hood and Africa also as well."

The album title derives from Nas and Marley's relationship, their shared African ancestry, and the shared ancestry of the entire human race; which musically and lyrically inspired each recording.

damian:"We're trying to have a sound that's reminiscent of both of us, but not exactly like either... A lot of charity albums come off corny. We want this to be something you'd play in your car."

Fusing hip hop and reggae musical elements,Marley and Nas also incorporated samples from African music into the album.The album's lyrical content heavily revolves around themes concerning Africa, from ancestry and poverty,with social commentary of the United States and Africa.The track "Count Your Blessings" reflects on the plight of Africa.

proceeds will go to a project in Africa, with the possibility of building a school in the Congo.

excerpts taken from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Distant_Relatives



Bulldog
May 20th 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

this is good, but not 5/5 good

sparkz
May 21st 2010


25 Comments


The song Patience is great



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy