Janelle Monae The ArchAndroid
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Chrisjon89
June 2nd 2010


3833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album. Neon Gumbo seems kind of pointless to me but aside from that it's great. Good review.

cfbassist
June 2nd 2010


333 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Neon Gumbo= the ending of Many Moons backwards

when i figured that out i was mind blown

Skimaskcheck
June 2nd 2010


2362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is incredible

SeaAnemone
June 2nd 2010


20979 Comments


if anyone else here reads Newsweek, I urge you to read the review for this... they gave it a 2-page feature and it's absolutely fantastic

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

Enotron
June 2nd 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes I'm subscribed to newsweek, sounds great.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
June 3rd 2010


4958 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i really want to love this

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
June 3rd 2010


3782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love it already

DiceMan
June 3rd 2010


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wants to read Newsweek feature on this... Sounds like writingsex.

Album is still omgwtf good. Great for everything but studying.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2010


17231 Comments


I think this owns the hell out of her EP.

WatchItExplode
June 3rd 2010


3316 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

think this is making my 2010 thus far...major surprise

Skimaskcheck
June 3rd 2010


2362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dance Or Die, oh my god

kingsoby1
Emeritus
June 3rd 2010


4958 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

adam, it owns the bonus tracks for sure. but the real content is easily toe-to-toe with any of the best tracks here.

i guess my main complaint is that there's too much traditional soul and too many ballads.

cfbassist
June 3rd 2010


333 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the pacing of this album is what makes it better then the EP

sure the EP is packed full of great songs, but this album takes you places, when you think of how the mood (and her voice) change so much between the opening three songs and the closing three songs, but it's done in a way that there is never a point where you think "woah it just slowed down a lot"

the fact she pulls that off on an 18 song album, makes it all the better

plane
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2010


6100 Comments


This is totally an LP + EP though which makes it easier to slog through the long running time. It's technically over at Suite III and then continues like some futuristic epilogue.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2010


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

to paraphrase cmg: though this might not be my favorite album this year, it's certainly the best

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2010


7474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

^ That is very true about me as well. Though it's not my fave, it's overall the best, the most daring and perhaps the most important.

Digging: Clipping - CLPPNG

defjaw83
June 4th 2010


1776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cold War is the bee's knees!

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2010


15083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

in before you lower your rating

thatoneguy726
June 6th 2010


1637 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Why don't people like Make the Bus?! It's what I remember most after one listen, and I loved it.

Wamwig
June 6th 2010


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I tried getting into Erykah Badu a while back but couldn't. Really loving this though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy