Janelle Monae The ArchAndroid (Suites II and III of IV)
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
kingsoby1
Emeritus
May 17th 2010



4829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice. i loved the chase to pieces when it first came out. i'm still absorbing this one.

you're so right about the "gloria estefanisms" in Dance or Die. we have very similar brainwaves nick butler.

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins®

DiceMan
May 17th 2010



7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Super excited for this... When does it drop?

EDIT: Listening to it now on myspace, it just isn't the same when I can't take it with me though

BSX
May 18th 2010



1630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@PoodleRapist: I know what you do for a living

@Iai: I'll live with how you wrote it

TheGreatD17
May 18th 2010



1141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whose raw talent is only matches by her near-psychotic ambition

Typo to fix. I just started listening to this, I've got high hopes.

Hoopy
May 18th 2010



15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really enjoyed this album.

AlexTM510
May 18th 2010



1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

must listen to this gah!!

Digging: Daniel Blomquist - measureless oceans of space

Iai
Emeritus
May 18th 2010



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers for the typo spot.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
May 18th 2010



6956 Comments


This is pretty great. I haven't listened to the full thing but I'll put my premature rating anyways!

Digging: Wild Beasts - Present Tense

TheGreatD17
May 18th 2010



1141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Make the Bus should have been cut and used as a bonus track for Japan or something because it completely kills the album's momentum. Other than that my only other complaint is that BabopbyeYa sort of meanders and isn't quite the stirring conclusion that it could have been (and tries to be). The rest of the album is excellent though, Suite IV could be a classic.

cfbassist
May 18th 2010



324 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i like this, but i just can't figure out how much...

when i'm listening to it, it's like a 4.5 but when i'm listening to other shit it drops to like a 2..

WHAT DOES IT MEAN!?

Iai
Emeritus
May 18th 2010



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You should stop listening to other stuff like I have.

AlexTM510
May 18th 2010



1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i know the review stated this but i am incredibly intrigued how spastic this album is yet how she pulls it of.

cfbassist
May 19th 2010



324 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

a 3 right now, will probably go up, i'm getting flooded by good music as of late...i need to let everything set in before i start giving out any ratings too high or too low lol

AtavanHalen
May 19th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

little rattlesnakers

Shrapnel94
May 19th 2010



2213 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listening to this before Bitchfork give it an 11

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 19th 2010



17114 Comments


i saw her new(est?) video the other day. Great music, I dunno about that haircut tho.
edit: just finished listening to the album. it's freaking incredible.

Digging: Sad Lovers and Giants - Feeding the Flame

plane
Staff Reviewer
May 19th 2010



6073 Comments


The drive home with this was superb. Seriously good shit. Even the guy at the record store asked me if I had seen the Letterman performance. "Of course, why do you think I'm here?"

The liner notes set up "Inspired by..." next to each track. I like this one for "Cold War": Inspired by the atomic bombs in Muhammad Ali's fists and Martin McKnight's famous "I Have a Scream" speech

edit: This fucking rocks. There are moments that get me in the way people describe Lady Gaga's music. The Of Montreal track grates a bit to begin with but once it hits the post-Hissing Fauna R&B groove it fits well into the progression of genres on the album.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
May 19th 2010



4925 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

after watching the Letterman video Fisher posted and your review, I need this

joshuatree
Emeritus
May 19th 2010



3743 Comments


this is really all over the place, haven't decided if that's a good thing or not though. "tightrope" and "cold war" are ridiculously good however

kingsoby1
Emeritus
May 19th 2010



4829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the old texan that works next to me said this sounds like stripper music???



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy