The National High Violet
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
thebhoy
Emeritus
May 12th 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's not that it's a long review, I've been known to put out some long ones, but it's that this could be significantly cut down and still say the exact same thing. Say as much as possible with as little as possible, and if as littles as possible is still long, then that's okay. It just makes for a more engrossing read, is all I'm saying.

NeutralThunder12
May 12th 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

k thanks thebhoy, Ill try to shorten my reviews and be a bit more concise. Thanks.

SharkEthic
May 12th 2010


583 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@BigHands: Yeah, I think you're right about that, there really isn't a majority favorite...which is the mark of a great album I guess!

Digging: Single Mothers - Negative Qualities

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
May 12th 2010


7376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is kinda growing on me song by song atm, Im yet to properly get into the last three songs but the seven before that are very solid.

thebhoy
Emeritus
May 12th 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the last three songs are the best

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
May 12th 2010


7376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I dont doubt that they are but like I say Ive yet to properly get into them

thebhoy
Emeritus
May 12th 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Alright, a brief reply to your shoutbox post:

This album has so many positive qualities that I’m finding it difficult to isolate which ones to focus on specifically, for a thirty page drool session conveying my immense fanboyism would clearly be superfluous. I could easily go on a three-page rant about the masterful use of strings and horns, and how they flawlessly complement each other throughout every track without ever lacking musically or feeling out of context, or I could write a forty page in-depth analysis of Beringer’s colorful and varied vocal melodies,


stuff like this is entirely uneccesary. You could easy say all of that in a sentence such as: "I could easily fall into a several page rant regarding horn arrengements, melodies and lyrics, but I will withold in fear of coming off hyperbolic." Or something like that. It holds the same information, but in a sharper focus. You could really even do without the whole bit, but that's more of a stylistic choice than anything. I hope that highlights what I mean a little bit and you can see where to come from in future reviews. You're a pretty decent writer so it's just a matter of polishing the finer details.

Thangorodrim
May 15th 2010


133 Comments


[img]http://i41.tinypic.com/161ylb5.jpg[/img]

Thangorodrim
May 15th 2010


133 Comments


I IZ THE PROGMASTA, AND I IZ BETTA THEN U

focksy
May 21st 2010


437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i dont like that your two least favorite tracks from boxer are my two favorites. green gloves and gospel are lyrically some of matts best work

Prolapse
August 4th 2010


4370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The first paragraph is so cheesy

BigHans
January 5th 2012


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well, one day, on a chilly Monday morning, I walked on to the bus to go to school. I turned on “Apartment Story”, a track from “Boxer”, and listened to it all the way to school while the rain viciously pounded the window that my head was pressed up against. During that short moment, when I looked out at the morning’s freezing rain, with the fuzzy guitar attacks of “Apartment Story” flooding my headphones, I got ‘it’.

^ lol so gay

ohfoxxxycole
January 5th 2012


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hahaha progmaster



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy