The National High Violet
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Motiv3
May 12th 2010


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

needs moar progmaster tbh

NeutralThunder12
May 12th 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah. needs moar Colors. Maybe some Silent Circus.

Motiv3
May 12th 2010


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

needs moar great misdirect and silent circus

NeutralThunder12
May 12th 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no, cause The Great Misdirect has too much zzzzzzzzzzzzzz and not enough accordions.

Motiv3
May 12th 2010


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes because accordions = metal...

NeutralThunder12
May 12th 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YEAH. The Great Misdirect needs less Fossil Shitnera and moar White Walls.
And of course accordions=metal. Dude! The first genre to use accordions WAS METAL. Before polka was even around. I think the first metal bands in the 17th century used accordions during breakdowns.

DiceMan
May 12th 2010


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If you need an album to stare off into the distance too while pondering the future of your life, or if you just want an album that soars past anything else in modern indie rock, look no further than 2010’s best album “High Violet”.


*to

Motiv3
May 12th 2010


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

progmaster: master of accordions since 1985.

NeutralThunder12
May 12th 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

1. thanks Musicaddiction that was one of the things I forgot to edit.
2. Hollier. hahaha.

JesusChris
May 12th 2010


673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

'Gospel is the second weakest track on Boxer'

Are you actually serious?
I'm curious as to what you think is the weakest.

thebhoy
Emeritus
May 12th 2010


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this thread needs moar Opeth.


not funny, stfu. Review is well written but rather long and dry. You can really trim some fat on this, like most of the second paragraph and a lot of the first. Remember it is better to be consice

Brylawski
May 12th 2010


709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah it's a bit too long for most people to read. I already think a lot of people here skim through reviews but when you make them that long, it really diminishes the number of people who will actually take the time to read it.

CelestialDust
May 12th 2010


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I disagree with lemonworld but that was an awesome read. You covered all the tracks well.

SharkEthic
May 12th 2010


585 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Just got my High Violet "limited edition violet heavyweight vinyl" in the mail today....pretty stoked about that!

Anyway, pos'd! Agree on Little Faith, don't agree on Lemonworld, and nice to see someone highlight Sorrow!

Digging: Ben Howard - I Forget Where We Were

BigHans
May 12th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Really good review, you've come a long ways from Mastodon guitar solos. You forgot to mention Bloodbuzz Ohio however, easily the best song on here.

NeutralThunder12
May 12th 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@jesuschris: Yes, Gospel is the second weakest song on Boxer, though its still a great song. The weakest in my opinion is probably Green Gloves, another great song but there's something truly missing from that one.

@BigHans: thanks haha, but I disagree, Bloodbuzz is no way the best on here.

@bhoy: "not funny, stfu." its just because I was talking to my friend, but I appreciate being told to stfu by a contributing reviewer. Thanks for the criticism. I'll take it in, but honestly, I like my reviews longer. Thats just my style.


SharkEthic
May 12th 2010


585 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

...Green Gloves and Gospel are 2 of the best songs on Boxer in my opinion. The weakest song on Boxer, by far, is Squalor Victoria.

BigHans
May 12th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Squalor Victoria is kind of boring but the drums in the intro are great. I like it better than Ada, Green Gloves, Gospel, and Racing Like a Pro.

SharkEthic
May 12th 2010


585 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Ha ha, I think Racing Like a Pro is my favorite song on Boxer!

BigHans
May 12th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I don't think there is a majority favorite off of Boxer. Apartment Story is probably the closest.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy