Foals Total Life Forever
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"The eponymous track would have been a strong single too, it would've been a hard decision to make." Sorry Tom, I disagree a little there. While it is definitely accessible (so it wouldn't surprise me if it is released as a single), I actually think it is possibly the closest thing to a weak track (excluding the interlude) here.


Kiran
Emeritus
May 6th 2010



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i like the sound here a looot more than the debut, which i found a bit...average. this is much better though and spanish sahara is such a great song.

BillboardBeauty
May 6th 2010



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"the greater ambition and maturity evident here could not have been foreseen by anyone"

I would contest that mate, check out the summary of my review for Antidotes ;) http://www.sputnikmusic.com/album.php?albumid=26031

Overall though, good review of a great album.

tombits
May 6th 2010



3469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

So you'd rate this a five?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Everyone needs to hear 'Spanish Sahara'. I won't try to convince you to raise your rating once more Kiran.

Haha. Nice one BillboardBeauty. The strange thing is that I actually had a read of your review about a week ago. Totally forgot the words you used in your summary. Good prediction... Although, can I presume that you didn't quite pick the change of direction. And yes, as Tom asks, do you indeed think this a better album overall than 'Antidotes'?

Dogget
May 6th 2010



781 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think Miami is going to be the next single, zane lowe was talking about it the other night.

Antidotes never really grabbed me but this album is just sublime, cracking review as well man

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
May 6th 2010



3761 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Intrigued.

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

alachlahol
May 6th 2010



7471 Comments


nice review Davey, though the summary confused me until i read the rest of the write-up. name-dropping Radiohead obviously makes me raise my eyebrows since i found Antidotes to be blasé

Knott-
Emeritus
May 6th 2010



10194 Comments


Nah Davey I like this summary. I think you should write less straightforwardly more often.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 6th 2010



10194 Comments


also i wanna get this asap

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"I think Miami is going to be the next single, zane lowe was talking about it the other night. Antidotes never really grabbed me but this album is just sublime, cracking review as well man" Thanks Dogget. And I agree that 'Miami' is the next most obvious single.

"Intrigued." I am here to intrigue you Alex. And you know this type of sound isn't usually my thing.

"nice review Davey, though the summary confused me until i read the rest of the write-up. name-dropping Radiohead obviously makes me raise my eyebrows since i found Antidotes to be blasé" Thanks Drew. Let's hope you are just as positive towards my review after you have heard the album & taken some time to consider the Radiohead name drop.

"Nah Davey I like this summary. I think you should write less straightforwardly more often." Good to hear Adam. I'll need to get a little more elaboration about writing less straightforward. Are you saying this review is more cpmplicated or out there than usual? And btw, I really think you will like this.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 6th 2010



10194 Comments


Yeah, honestly I think you hold yourself back sometimes by your matter-of-fact tone, the summary and a few extracts from this review are proof of that much. You use single-sentence tangents and whatnot more than I'm used to you doing.

And me too. I have no idea why - Antidotes was alriiiiiiiiight but not amazing by any means.

Ponton
Emeritus
May 6th 2010



5784 Comments


Yannis Philippakis' vocals remind me of Hutchison from Frightened Rabbit.

Good review, Davey. I was going to try to review this last night, but my internet cut off on me. Got back on this morning and saw that you already had it covered.

For all those interested in hearing this, you can stream it here:

http://3voor12.vpro.nl/speler/luisterpaal/43428203#luisterpaal.43428203

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
May 6th 2010



3761 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also, I'm completely in agreement with Adam, it's so nice to see you write as boldly as you did in your intro there.

AggravatedYeti
May 6th 2010



7684 Comments


hmm a Davey 4.5 for some Foals eh? Never really bothered with this band before.

DoubtGin
May 6th 2010



6748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3 so far ;s

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2010



7313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll listen to this later, I've been meaning to for a while even though I didn't like their first that much. Nice review as ever.

GaryT
May 6th 2010



54 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review mate.


dcha
May 6th 2010



990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent Album.

Waior
May 6th 2010



11425 Comments


concurring with adam and alex, this is some of your strongest writing yet

and i will definitely be listening to this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy