Nonpoint Miracle
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
May 2nd 2010


19501 Comments


Holy fuck, review was awesome and trumps anything I've ever published. Congrats on being on top of the front page as well! Well, you know what I'm going to be doing tonight...

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

...listening to this? Although I have to warn you, I don't think you'd dig this much Wiz. Maybe 1-2 times through, but I'm afraid it might remain a tad soft for you in the long run. You can still give it a go, sure, but if I were you I'd approach with small expectations.

LepreCon
May 2nd 2010


4143 Comments


Great review Styles, congrats on getting featured.

I remember absolutely loving this band back in the days when I thought I was all hardcore listening to KoRn, Slipknot, Limp Bizkit and Machine Head (such great times XD), but I haven't heard anything from them in a while, their new direction sounds interesting, I may check this out.

Apollo
May 2nd 2010


10336 Comments


good review, I will be checking this out. Pos'd

Wizard
May 2nd 2010


19501 Comments


...listening to this? Although I have to warn you, I don't think you'd dig this much Wiz. Maybe 1-2 times through, but I'm afraid it might remain a tad soft for you in the long run. You can still give it a go, sure, but if I were you I'd approach with small expectations.

I knew you would say this. But since I love nu-metal, I need to get my fill. Haven't listened to it in a while.

Zanso
May 2nd 2010


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really loved this CD, but I also might be bias since they're from my hometown and I've met them a few times and like the guys a lot.

Either way, if you like nonpoint this is definitely their best work since recoil, if you don't like their sound this cd probably won't change anything for you.

Zanso
May 2nd 2010


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah statements amazing also, what a day is easily one of my favorite songs ever.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I knew you would say this. But since I love nu-metal, I need to get my fill. Haven't listened to it in a while.
...and that is where the problem lies. See, if this album was a kickass nu record, I would've been all over your shoutbox a long time ago ;). Alas for you, this isn't nu anymore - like I described in the review, it's a hard rock/metal hybrid. No nu metal to be found here. Obviously I'm still eagerly looking forward to your opinion on this. Just warning you that you might not dig this too much.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

At its best moments it resembles the last album by Life Of Agony. Even if it's not quite as good as this record, it's still an enjoyable release with many good songs. Pantera's cover that doesn't differ from the original at all is unnecessary though.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely not agreed on that Pantera note haha. It doesn't differ from the original, true, but all around, Nonpoint have actually made the song better. I always thought the song (and the whole Far Beyond Driven album, for that matter) had sub-par production and that Anselmo's vocals were pretty bad there. Elias' voice fits much better, and the fuller sound along with better production makes Nonpoint's version much more enjoyable than the original.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well. As a die-hard Pantera fan, I dare to differ. It's obvious that the production is better, but Anselmo is superior to Elias by far. Besides, I'm not and I'll never be a supporter of covers that don't bring anything new to the table occuring on the regular albums.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


16434 Comments


Knew you'd post a review for this. Excellent work, I've only heard a few songs by this band and they were pretty decent, but nu-metal generally isn't my cup of tea. Still, though, I may check this out.

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Greg - I have nothing against Anselmo's vocals at all in general, but in that song, in that one song I feel he overdid them. I know the story behind the song and the main point of it, but he still just doesn't sound neither sincerely pissed nor good for that matter. Elias overdoes him in that song imo.

Crysis - thanks bro, you can check out the stream if you want (check my first comment on page 1 if you're interested)

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


16434 Comments


I just might. We'll see how this goes.

Romulus
May 2nd 2010


8441 Comments


Congrats on the feature, really good review too.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


16434 Comments


w00t gratz on the feature dude

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you guys, but to be square with you, I did ask for this myself. Just thought this could appeal to a certain part of the sputnik community + it's Nonpoint so obviously I was/am psyched about this.

AtavanHalen
May 2nd 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

yeah well you liking crap like Justin Biber (sic), AVA and Keane and then saying Nonpoint are effing terrible is kind of laughable ;). It's all opinions, but these guys were definitely one of the best nu acts back in the day, and are one of the strongest rock/metal crossover bands today


Dude, are you seriously playing the "You can't have an opinion on W because you have a differing opinion on X,Y and Z"? Are you ten years old? Sure, I'd understand if I was giving The Beatles shit and Aiden were my favourite band, but for fuck's sake - this is braindead sports-montage nu-metal; music made by deadshits for deadshits. I'd love this if it was 2001 and I hated the world around me, but Nonpoint are irrelevant and fucking irritating.

Can we also get a review of the AWESOME new Three Days Grace album while we're at it, though? THE FUCKING ANGST MAN! FUCKEN MOM WON'T LET ME PLAY XBOX ON THE WEEKEND! HATE YOU MOM!

unaffected
May 3rd 2010


71 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

The only good thing this band has ever shat out was that Phil Collin's cover in Miami Vice. Even then, the original was far better because Phil Collin's would kick this drummer's ass with his pinky toe.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2010


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude, are you seriously playing the "You can't have an opinion on W because you have a differing opinion on X,Y and Z...
good job, you managed to overlook the fact I said It's all opinions on purpose just to get into an overly pointless dispute. I should've known though as it's pretty much what you're known for.
but Nonpoint are irrelevant and fucking irritating.
If they're irritating to you then fine, but irrelevant? Since when does a band become automatically irrelevant after releasing 1 bad album? If you didn't notice To The Pain, their last pre-Vengeance album, is one of their most successful records to date, and Miracle is a bounce-back from Vengeance so no, they're not irrelevant, especially so because Nonpoint are not even nu metal anymore.
Can we also get a review of the AWESOME new Three Days Grace album while we're at it, though? THE FUCKING ANGST MAN! FUCKEN MOM WON'T LET ME PLAY XBOX ON THE WEEKEND! HATE YOU MOM!
this just makes you look like an idiot since the only angst filled thing here is "5 Minutes Alone" and it isn't even their own song so good job again.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy