As I Lay Dying The Powerless Rise
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BassDemon333
April 30th 2010



3291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

His screaming improved a lot on this release, its great. I think Austrian Death Machine did him some good, he brought some of the vocal style he used on those albums to As I Lay Dying for this one.

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

ShadowRemains
April 30th 2010



19442 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Err, just because it's 320kbps doesn't mean it's from the CD. Almost all the ones I've heard have just been transcoded up from 96kbps (stupid thing to do), you can hear it in the drums, and by the fact they're 48kHz (CD's are 44.1kHz)"

Yep, that must be the problem I'm running into...

dnor
April 30th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Also, the version I'm listening to now is at 320 kbps and it sounds absolutely fine.

Nikkolae
April 30th 2010



4394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow, thass all i gotta say bout this, just fucking great

Digging: Corrupted - Paso Inferior

ShadowRemains
April 30th 2010



19442 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Also, the version I'm listening to now is at 320 kbps and it sounds absolutely fine."

Can you link it?


dnor
April 30th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Linked it on your profile wall.

ShadowRemains
April 30th 2010



19442 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks bro :D

dnor
April 30th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

No Problem man

ShadowRemains
April 30th 2010



19442 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

your profile pic makes me lol, btw

dnor
April 30th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

haha, I nearly pissed myself the first time I ever saw it.

Nikkolae
April 30th 2010



4394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i shall steal that torrent as well >: D, just realized im sporting my AILD shirt atm lol

danrawkz
April 30th 2010



331 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There's still something distinctly Lo-Fi about that one, it's also not 44.1kHz, the guy even admits in the description he rips his 'm4a's at 128kbps..
Looks like a 128kbps transcode up to 320kbps (pointless, and still only 128kbps, MAX, probably less now that he's trancoded a lossy file).

I'll keep searching, or wait til may 11 before I make any judgements on production

dnor
April 30th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I recommend it. I mean, I may be a complete retarded faggot nerd and be wrong about it sounding good, but I doubt it. Sounds great to me.

ShadowRemains
April 30th 2010



19442 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

listen closely to the drums and see if there is a liquidy (can't describe it any other way) feedback, thats the problem I've been running into.

danrawkz
April 30th 2010



331 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There's lots of it, and the cymbals sound very 'washy'. Sorry, I probably sound like a pretentious audiophile douche, but I just can't live with sub 128kbps mp3 music these days *laugh*.

Also gets up my nose when people call shit like that high quality 320kbps.. to uh get hits I guess..

dnor
April 30th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Now that you point it out, I do hear a feedback (liquidy actually does a good job describing it.) With that said, the ability to listen to the record isn't hampered by this at all, at least in my mind.

I'm currently on "The Only Constant Is Change" and it's not my favorite, but I'm not going to pass judgment on my overview of the album until I'm done with "The Blinding of False Light" (Last song per my download).

Current Favorite Song(s): Upside Down Kingdoms, The Plague

ShadowRemains
April 30th 2010



19442 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

damnit...damnit...damnit

dnor
April 30th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I don't know. I just finished the Album. and according to iTunes (SHUT UP, I USE ITUNES FUCK YOU....) I have 4 songs at 3 stars (Beyond Our Suffering, Parallels, Condemed, and The Only Constant is Change), 5 songs at 4 stars (Anodyne Sea, Without Conclusion, Anger and Apathy, Vacancy, and The Blind of False Light), and 2 songs at 5 stars (Upside Down Kingdoms and The Plague).

Guess that sits it PERFECTLY at the 4.0 rating it's been getting : ) Spot on.

ShadowRemains
April 30th 2010



19442 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

vacancy would be a 5 for me

dnor
April 30th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

IDK, I absolutely LOVE the two 5's I had. And remember, that was only my FIRST run-through of the album...my opinion can change anytime depending on how I hear something when I'm a little less tired.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy