Bullet For My Valentine Fever
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
iswimfast
April 28th 2010



1134 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree completely on your stance with what the band is at it's core, and what they are trying to accomplish. I just expected a little more after how awesome I felt The Poison was.

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

R6Rider
April 28th 2010



4068 Comments


gonna have to check em out then

where you live Trey?

Digging: Arecibo - Lost In Consciousness

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree completely on your stance with what the band is at it's core, and what they are trying to accomplish. I just expected a little more after how awesome I felt The Poison was.
The Poison, to me, was a few good songs with a lot of filler (especially the second half of the album. It kind of lacked a direction and was only good in small doses. When was the last time you listened to that entire album in one sitting?

I live in San Diego, California.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

iswimfast
April 28th 2010



1134 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yesterday, actually. I've listened to them a lot recently because I wanted to make sure I wasn't
talking out of my butt for my first review. The big thing that I'm gonna disagree on you with here is
that this album has any more direction at all then The Poison. They're very similar at the core,
doing exactly what you stated in your review, making music to workout to.

The main fact is this band went in a direction that was similar to those bands that you mentioned in
your review: Metallica, Shadow's Fall, etc. They're not really melodic metalcore anymore, which is
probably the leading reason I didn't like this, besides the couple of songs I mentioned in my review.

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd say that this has a lot more direction. The Poison, to me, seemed to be trying to be everything to everyone kind of thing (here's our poppy song, here's our heavy song, here's a ballad - repeat). This one has a more streamlined sound throughout and is way more developed as far as actual songwriting. They've definitely moved away from their original sound (I don't know if I'd call it metalcore, though), but they made that change on their second album, really.

Skybreaker
April 28th 2010



622 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for finally giving an honest review

Less screaming, but the clean vocals have been drastically improved over SAF

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Are you saying my other reviews aren't honest??? ;)

Skybreaker
April 28th 2010



622 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And i would call this hard rock, as opposed to metalcore.

Willie
Moderator
April 28th 2010



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I would never call these guys metalcore at any point of their career.

eternium
April 28th 2010



16209 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Thrash-influenced hard rock, emphasis on hard rock for The Poison and emphasis on thrash-influenced on Scream Aim Fire (as they tried to be Metallica, just like Trivium was at the same time). However, this is so poppy that I'd call it heavy pop or something. It's as close to pop-metal as anything.

I loved The Poison years ago, but have hated the band since Scream Aim Fire and this is even worse.

Digging: Thou - Heathen

LG
April 28th 2010



3049 Comments


It's not worse, just not really any better then Scream Aim Fire.

bloc
April 28th 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I prefer Scream Aim Fire out of all three of their albums

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

LG
April 28th 2010



3049 Comments


Ya but your an odd one, maybe one day I'll figure you out.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 28th 2010



30297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

That's their worst album

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Klekticist
April 28th 2010



1258 Comments


ehh. at least there's side boob on the cover.
might give this a listen once or twice.

ShinobiDaisuke
April 28th 2010



50 Comments


This is a great review and you summarized the band flawlessly. I think my biggest problem with Bullet for My Valentine is that they aren't unique enough and their lyrical subject matter is so generic and unoriginal that they're boring to listen to. Plus it's hard to take a band seriously when the main reason they sell is because Matt is a pretty-boy.

UnitK2K
April 28th 2010



100 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album was really enjoyable and catchy. Some people rate too hard on this band, of course they're not going to be everyone's favorite but this is a good addition to their past songs. A bit of a change of pace, but some songs still have some good solos. Love the song Pleasure and Pain.
I like to compare bands to Opeth because I see them as the gods of any genre of metal and BFMV is still far from there, but they could get up there and this is a start. This band's already extremely popular as it is.

NeutralThunder12
April 28th 2010



8742 Comments


hey Trey, good one. Listen to some of it, it's not god awful, but 2.5-3. Its alright. Band never was and never will be special. Ever. But they dont completely suck.

Emim
April 28th 2010



26195 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This was pretty much my views on the album. Good review as always; I liked the Carlin tie-in.

bloozclooz
April 28th 2010



1770 Comments


lookin' mighty sexy there mr. vader



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy